1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Exclude Some Row Labels from Pivot Table Calculation

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by jessiew84, Dec 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jessiew84

jessiew84 Thread Starter

Hi all.

I have an extensive workbook that I'm trying to work out a few kinks in for 2011.

Currently I have a master data sheet that then filters through pivot tables to give more simplified information. Each pivot table contains the same row labels and values, but for different time frames. I have it set up to calculate some of the formulas for me automatically but there is one field that I need to exclude two of the ten row labels from. Currently I have a column next to the pivot table that I have calculating this weird figure but I'm wondering if there's a way I can have it be integrated into the pivot table in the event we add more row labels in the future.

Is there a way to set up the pivot table formula to exclude a certain row label?

I've included an example workbook. Let's say I'm trying to show the Grand Total for % of Cake Slices for Mon-Fri only. Is there a way to do this?

Attached Files:

2. etaf

etaf Moderator

First Name:
    Wayne
    Normally you would just click on the dropdwon arrow for row labels and theres a set of tick boxs - so you can exlude certain row values - ie Sat & Sun
    I only have excel 2003 - so i cant use the version you posted as i need to have a later version to test

3. jessiew84

jessiew84 Thread Starter

Etaf - unfortunately unchecking one of those boxes will exclude the unchecked for all calculations. I only want to exclude one item from one of the six pivot table calculations.

4. etaf

etaf Moderator

First Name:
    Wayne