.EXE files unable to open.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Solartide

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 8, 2007
Messages
29
All the .exe files on the computer cannot be opened. If I right click on the program, there is no open link.

http://img127.imageshack.us/img127/172/opennq1.png

I managed to open Firefox by right clicking a .bmp file, and open with: Firefox. Firefox gave me an error but opened up anyway. I did the same thing to open up paint.

Whenever I double click on the .exe file, the icon becomes a lighter shade than those around it.

http://img183.imageshack.us/img183/1962/lightpa8.png

When I try to use a shortcut to get to the program, I get this:

http://img461.imageshack.us/img461/6461/errorfi0.png

Which is why I could not use the answer supplied in this topic:

http://forums.techguy.org/windows-nt-2000-xp/468131-lnk-error-registry-probs.html

Lastly, upon boot, on the loading screen where it says "Welcome", there is a strange box that appears with characters such as "?$"$!?" and the button "OK".

Thank you for your time.

And I'm on XP SP2
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
Can you download files from the net?

If you take one of these exe's and change the extension to COM will it run?
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
I've asked that a Gold Shield "specialist" review this thread.
 

Solartide

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 8, 2007
Messages
29
Hmm, another hitch:

Sorry, your browser does not support ActiveX or it is not enabled.

Which is strange, it was enabled before this all happened.

Wait, it worked on IE.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
3,775
Do you have IE7 installed, and can you get it to run the way you can get Firefox to run?
Can you enable Active X in Firefox after you get it to open?
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
32,649
Put your cursor over EXE files in XP in line 12. Click once. Download the
.vbs script (desktop is a good place). Double click on it. Allow it to
change the registry. Reboot. See if your problem is resoved.
http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_tweaks.htm

and then see if you can run exe files and we will have a hjt log ready for th security folks
 

Solartide

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 8, 2007
Messages
29
Indeed, I was planning to try to do a system restore, after this online ewido scan finishes.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,027
Let us know the results of the system restore and if that doesn't work, I will post with further instructions.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top