.exe msdos file problem PLEASE HELP!!!!!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

pcguydude

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2004
Messages
3
Ok this has happened to my computer twice and my friends computer once, but I have never seen anyone else experience these problems. I tried to click on one of my desktop shortcuts and it popped up with a box identical to a command prompt box, except without any text. the box stays open for about a half of a second. Not only is it desktop shortcuts, but it happens to the .exe file inside the program folder. The first time this happened to me, it occured with windows programs including notepad, but not all programs. Reinstalling the program makes the dialog box go a way and the program runs well for a little while, before it pops up again when trying to acess it. I am completely bewildered!!!!! :confused: :mad: Nothing extraordinary happened before this problem occurs, it JUST HAPPENS without any warning.system restore doesn't fix it. I don't want to reformat every Time this happens!!!!!!! Both systems are identical except the video card,( one is 9800 pro, the other is 9800xt.) System Specs:
Asus a7n8x-e deluxe
amd athlon xp 3200+
corsair 512 value ram
windows xp pro
the video cards mentioned above
sata hdd 80gig WD
PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!
PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!
PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2004
Messages
198
sounds like a virus mate
i suuguest you go to google type `norton` in search box and use there free online virus search engine not any you already have installed because it may of got round them.

see if it says you have/nt got any and follow there advice
let us know if this solves yr problem or not
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
I moved your thread to the Security forum, someone will help you there ...
 

pcguydude

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2004
Messages
3
Anti Virus says ALL MY files are infected with a W32 JEEFO virus??? what the heck???? it says my ati drivers, my msn messenger, all my game .exe's and everything!!! OH WELL, I am just gonna reformat, If anyone has any advice, it would be greatly appreciated as to how to avoid this problem and to solve it next time. Thanks for all the help!!!
 

pcguydude

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2004
Messages
3
I just reformatted and it did it again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! why is it doing this!????!???? that is 5 times now, between these 2 pc's please help!!!!!

It must be a hardware issue??!?!?!?
right?!??!?

I reformatted and installed drivers, gamedrive, and zero hour THAT IS ALL!!?!?!?!??!?!?!?!!!


THANK YOU!!!
God Bless
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
This describes the virus.

It would certainly appear that one of your programs that you are installing after the reformat is infected. And, as soon as it is installed, it infects everything else.

Suggestion:
The first application you should install is your antivirus, then immediately update your definitions.
Then, immediately apply all MS critical security updates.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top