.exe

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

merp64

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 9, 2005
Messages
11
Hi,

How do I open an .exe file in Mac? How can I execute a file made in Windows in my MAC?
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
2,609
Which app?

There are several possibilities depending on the app.
Codeweavers Office, Wine, Parallels, and VMware Fusion.

Crossover Office and Wine provide implement parts of the Win32 API and SOME programs run great with this.

Parallels and Fusion both run a virtual Windows environment and hence runs a high percentage of Window apps.

Of course you can always install Boot Camp and boot into Windows on your mac (if an Intel based Mac) but my guess this isn't what you're looking for.
 

merp64

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 9, 2005
Messages
11
I'm new in MAC and I just download a driver for my printserver from the Linksys web site, but this a Windows application and I would like to run this program to see if I can setup my network printer as I did on my Dell. (I couldn't find the MAC drivers for it).
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
2,609
merp64 said:
I'm new in MAC and I just download a driver for my printserver from the Linksys web site, but this a Windows application and I would like to run this program to see if I can setup my network printer as I did on my Dell. (I couldn't find the MAC drivers for it).
That won't work.

Can you list the exact model?
 

merp64

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 9, 2005
Messages
11
Printserver: Linksys Model PSUS4.
Printer: HP Officejet 6210 All in One
Computer: MacBook 2ghz Intel core duo, 1 GB Ram OS 10.4
Wireless Router: Belkin G plus 2.4 Ghz
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
2,609
The print server should be preconfigured to run.
You will need to install the Officejet drivers on the Mac, then go to the printers preference panel and just add a network printer. I believe for that print server the queue field is "lp" and use whatever IP it is assigned.

This might be useful to explain the procedure better: http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20060404021600193

(Its not the exact same hardware, but the same procedure)

Edit: I've read firmware update v6034 causes problems for Macs so you might want to avoid upgrading or search for more information about it.
 

merp64

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 9, 2005
Messages
11
I already been thru that link before and I already have that driver installed in my MAC. I can also print directly to the printer using the usb cable. The problem is when I go wireless, the MAC doesn't find the Printserver's IP. I try to configure it manually, but still not find the IP address.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
2,609
Is the print server's IP dynamic or static?
Are you picking LPD as the protocol?
Do you know what firmware is installed on the print server?
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
2,609
Is the Print Server Wireless also?

Edit: Looked myself and see it isn't.
 

merp64

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 9, 2005
Messages
11
Ok, I finally print wireless, but only garbage is coming out (I know isn't the right printer driver). I been trying to setup the printer model but isn't listed. I downloaded and install the driver but still not in the list and I don't know how to pull the right one.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
2,609
I downloaded and installed the Officejet 6200 driver and I understand what you mean. I especially liked how they automatically installed 2 docks icons without asking me. :mad:
Anyways, like you mentioned they don't appear to install a PPD file anyway to describe the printer and hence you don't see it in the pull down menu.

So I thought that since Linux and OS X use the same printing system I could grab the PPD from the linux printing web site. Found one, but this PPD uses the a backend I'm not sure is installed by default in OS X.

So to make things short, if you go here http://gimp-print.sourceforge.net/MacOSX.php3 and get that package, the software needed to print is there. I installed it and your printer now shows up int he dropdown list and you can install it as a network printer. (Obviously I can't print to fully test, but should work.)

P.S. You will probably still need the HP software for get Scanning/Faxing etc working.
 

merp64

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 9, 2005
Messages
11
Ok Headrush I think this is it, I Just want to say that you had been a very good help and I want to thank you for all your support. I really learned a lot about how to setup a printer in MAC. I found the 6200 driver in your last reply, unfortunately there still something wrong because I can only print one page with one diamond dot in the upper corner. Anyway I'm planning to buy another printer, maybe a Dell ;-) I'll leave this headache as a dedicated fax.
Thank you very much.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top