1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

explorer and stars errors

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by spoiled_brat109, Nov 28, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. spoiled_brat109

    spoiled_brat109 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    154
    :confused: I keep getting an error that says : EXPLORER general
    protection fault in module KRNL 386.EXE at 0001:000075 a 8

    also I get one everytime I turn on my computer that says
    STARS is causing and error.

    Can anyone help:confused:
     
  2. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    hello... sounds like you got a problem. Do you know what Star is?
    If not you should do a complete scan of your computer system w/ an updated virus scan & a spyware scan.



    for virus, worms & trojans scan --> http://housecall.antivirus.com/

    for spyware download & scan with Ad-Aware here http://www.lavasoftusa.com/

    best of all... they are both very efficient & free!!


    Savvy :)
     
  3. beach51

    beach51

    Joined:
    May 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,199
    Hi spoiled_brat109,I think you need to do a virus scan.You can get one here

    http://www.housecall.antivirus.com

    Might be a good idea to post your startup programs here so we can see what you have running at startup.Go to Start>Run>type in Msinfo32>click on software enviroment>then startup programs>click edit>copy>and post them back here.
     
  4. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    Thanks... I was off looking for the address... could have saved a step if I knew you was going to post it...:)


    Savvy :)
     
  5. beach51

    beach51

    Joined:
    May 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,199
    Savy,:D
     
  6. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Hi,

    Do you happen to have a Genius Netscroll mouse installed?
    For that may be responsible for your Kernel386.exe error: http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/q257/9/44.asp

    And do follow up on Beach51 and Savvy's advice.
    We may well find out what causes your Stars error that way as well.

    Good luck,
     
  7. spoiled_brat109

    spoiled_brat109 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    154
    I tried all the advice. The scan said everything was cleanable.
    I tried typing in Msinfo327 but it says Windows cannot find it.:confused:
     
  8. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    spoiled_brat109
    msinfo32 used in start\run input area.
    Dave
     
  9. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    To fix Star, select Start, Run, type: MSCONFIG, and select OK. Select the Startup tab and uncheck the Star entry.
     
  10. spoiled_brat109

    spoiled_brat109 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    154
    I don't know what all this stuff is but here goes:
    *State Mgr > Adaptec Direct CD> AIM > Create CD 50 > Delay >
    DXM6patch_98116 >Hidserv > incredimail > Keyboard Manager >
    Load QM > LV Cams >mgavrtclexe > ms works update >
    mmtray >Motive monitor > New.net startup > PCHealth >
    Reality Fusion Game Cam > Real tray > Save Now > Scan Registry> SP >SSDPSRV > STARS > Stillmage Monitor > SVA player > system tray > task monitor > ti3000pl > usbmmkbd >
    wcmdmgr > web cam RT.exe > web Hancer Agent > Yahoo Pager> Zing Spooler

    that's my start up.:eek:
     
  11. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    I'm going to go ahead and jump in because it appears Dan and the others are offline now.

    Anyway, do like Dan said and click on Start>Run, key in Msconfig and press enter. Click on the Startup tab. Remove the checkmarks next to "Stars" . You also want to remove the checkmark next to "SP". Click on Apply and follow the prompts to restart the PC.

    Once it's restart, rerun Msconfig and be sure those two entries are still Unchecked.

    Assuming they are do this

    Click on Start>Search>Files, key in sp.dll and press enter. If it finds SP.dll, Right click on it and select Delete. Leave it in your Recycle Bin for a few days to be sure your OK.

    After that's done, I suggest you clean up the Spyware that loaded on your PC. I see at least two entries for Spyware in your startup. If you want to get rid of it, go <a href=http://www.lavasoftusa.com/downloads.html> here </a>, then on the Right side of the page, click on the little Yellow folder next to “Ad-aware 5.62 Final” to download AAW.exe. Once you've downloaded it, double left click on it to install it. Then look for the AdAware folder in Start>Programs and execute the program. Once it launches, on the Left side of the screen, be sure to select ScanRegistry(DeepScan), ScanMemory and Scan Fixed C: Drive from the directory tree on the Left side and then click on “Scan”. When it's done scanning, click on Continue and then select everything it lists and continue on to delete and clean it up.

    Restart Windows and then rerun AdAware again to be sure it comes up clean at the end.

    Let us know what happens.
     
  12. beach51

    beach51

    Joined:
    May 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,199
    Follow Bryan's advice and also when your in msconfig at the startup,uncheck newnet,web hancer and save now.Ad=aware will remove save now maybe web hancer,but it wont remove newnet.At least you will be able to keep it from starting up.You can try and remove it from add and remove programs,but some people lose there internet connection when they do.You can contact newnet at 626-229-7800 for complete removeal instructions.

    let us know how you make out.
     
  13. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    Sorry, I've taken a break away from answering questions here for a month or two so I'm not that up on New.net. That's what I get for taking a break. :)

    Anyway, I did know it was Spyware (well not technically Spyware) but I wasn't aware of the fact that AdAware wouldn't remove it. Thanks Beach ...

    Also, it you have trouble getting rid of WebHancer, see <a href=http://www.lavasoft.de/cgi-bin/forums/ikonboard.cgi?s=3c059eb57584ffff;act=ST;f=2;t=5;hl=> this </a> post and download the WebHancer remover (whndnfix.zip) that's referred to at the bottom of the thread.

    Let us know what happens.
     
  14. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    When you have ran all the scans & have rebooted ... please come back & let us know if its ok now?


    Savvy :)
    I hope we was able to help
     
  15. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    Thanks guys for jumping in while I was away..... I opened an e-mail with that new virus ..WORM_BADTRANS.B ..was dealing with that.

    (shakes head at all the corruption in this world)


    Savvy:(
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/59961

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice