Explorer can't see my CDRW

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dmford

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 5, 2004
Messages
4
Explorer doesn't seem to be able to see my CDRW. The drive itself seems to work okay, and responds with activity when I put in a disk. If I click on the drive via Explorer, I get a message box announcing "E:\ is not accessible. Incorrect function." Applications like backup or music CD players CAN see the drive, though, and seem to have no problem storing or retrieving data. I welcome any help in solving this, thanks.
-dmf
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2002
Messages
1,525
Are there any other devices on the same IDE channel? how are they jumpered?
 

dmford

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 5, 2004
Messages
4
Good question, I'll have to learn how to answer it. Thanks for the quick response. (For what it's worth, I'm suspecting that this is a software configuration issue, since I haven't had the computer case open for months, and this problem is fairly recent.)
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2002
Messages
1,525
That would have been nice information for the first post..............

What Operating System are you using?
What burning software do you use? etc
 

steppenwolf

Banned
Joined
Apr 9, 2003
Messages
3,270
i had two drives or have
mine did work but it worked better when i changed both jumpers
i think they require special software
 

dmford

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 5, 2004
Messages
4
Yes, better first posts are always desirable, if only we can figure out in advance what will make them better, as opposed to bloated with useless information. Thanks for putting up with my attempt to keep the question lean and clean.

I'm running Win2k SP4. I have Nero 5.5.10.56/ InCD 2.32.0 for drive access. The drive itself is a Yamaha 3200E, firmware 1.0d. It is configured as master on my secondary IDE channel, and there is a zip drive configured on that channel as a slave. For what it's worth, I also notice (from Nero's InfoTool utility) that Autorun is turned off for that drive, and that DMA is turned on.
 

dmford

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 5, 2004
Messages
4
One of my utilities says that the auto insert notifier is not turned on for this CD device, could that be the problem? Where is the control for that?
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Should be in the control panel/system/device manager. Right click the cdrom for properties.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top