1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Explorer.exe failed

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by fdtruck, Jan 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fdtruck

    fdtruck Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    I have a dell cpu once I upgraded to nortons 2006 and scanned it for viruses which it removed several. I then loaded microsofts new beta popup blocker and scan my machine which it removed 38 different adwares. I rebooted and now it gives me my picture on the desktop with the error message explored.exe failed because the wininet.dll not found. I have gone to the safemode but can only get the dos prompt. I tried sfc/scannow but forgot what it told me but it did nothing. Any help would be greatly apprciated. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,602
    Information obtained at WinTasks DLL Library

    wininet - wininet.dll - DLL Information
    DLL File: wininet or wininet.dll
    DLL Name: Internet Extensions for Win32

    Description:
    wininet.dll is a module that contains Internet-related functions used by Windows applications.

    Note: wininet.dll is a process which the Troj/Zlob-AO trojan tries to disguise itself as under the true process name of %systemroot%\mscornet.exe. This program is a registered security risk and should be removed immediately.

    The process is still in your startup so it is looking for it. Click start \ run and type msconfig and check what you have in your startup.
     
  3. fdtruck

    fdtruck Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Lance Iam not able to get to anything but my taskmamager on the start up screen. I have been able to get to the reg edit from here and found a file don't open under the desktop file. It shows ncpa.cpl and a odbccp32.cpl file with no in the data are. Can I delete these or rename them and fix my problem. thaks for the reply
     
  4. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,602
    I suggest then that you do a repair on your system. Boot from the XP CD and select NOT the first repair option but the second. So when it asks you to hit any key to continue with the installation do so and itÂ’ll give you the option for repair. You will not lose and data or setting in this repair.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/434262

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice