1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

explorer.exe freezes when in thumbnail view

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by jasyn, Aug 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jasyn

    jasyn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    this past week for some reason when i'm trying to access a picture folder located on another computer's hard drive (it's networked), when in thumbnail view explorer.exe totally stops responding. it works perfectly in detailed view and other views, but with thumbnail view it doesn't function. i tried to delete a thumbs.db but there isn't one available. can someone help me out?
     
  2. Mega Tron

    Mega Tron

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    242
    Go Here and try the the fix labeled.

    Restore Thumbnail Views in Xp
     
  3. jasyn

    jasyn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    nope doesn't work.
     
  4. Mega Tron

    Mega Tron

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    242
  5. jasyn

    jasyn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    it is not
     
  6. Mega Tron

    Mega Tron

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    242
  7. jasyn

    jasyn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    so i've read all the things .. especially the one where you have a photoshop image -> right click -> properties -> photoshop image tab -> uncheck thumbnails .. and i don't have that

    i've also deleted thumbs.db on both my computer as well as the main computer where the files are stored and it still freezes.

    well here's an update. could it be that i set all our computers to 100Mbps/Full Duplex? the folder size is about 1.xx gb worth of pictures. all the computers lag when loading the pictures .. however mine seems to be the more severe one.
     
  8. jasyn

    jasyn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    well i switched all the link speed & duplex back to Auto on all computers and it functions properly now .. since when i put them on 100Mbps/Full Duplex, is that a router issue?
     
  9. Mega Tron

    Mega Tron

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    242
    About the folder size. It is best to break up pictures into several folders instead of one to break down the size because it does lag opening the folder up.

    Well Full Duplex means that you can receive information back and forth from both ends and if it is a router connecting the two make sure the connection is at optimal speed.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/742049

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice