1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

EXPLORER.EXE not running in task manager processes

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by CoolRaze, Feb 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CoolRaze

    CoolRaze Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Had major trojans, spyware, etc. Ran Malawarebytes removed all beautifully except when I rebooted, I have nothing on my desktop except the wallpaper. When I right click on desktop, nothing. Can access Task Manager and get to files that way but no way to activate desktop. What has happened here? Also, nothing on desktop when I go into SafeMode. Thank you
     
  2. karbo

    karbo Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,239
    Try lines 72 and 117 (left column) from here. And possibly line 16 (left column).
     
  3. CoolRaze

    CoolRaze Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    That didnt help a bit.....lines 16 and 72 both are for DISABLING Active Desktop. ANybody else got anything?
     
  4. karbo

    karbo Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,239
    If you read carefully, it also says ENABLING... ;)
     
  5. karbo

    karbo Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,239
    Well, if safe mode is not functional as well, there's nothing you can do via Windows environment.

    What might be helpful is to boot up with any windows setup/install cd and log into
    the repair/recovery console.

    There are two things you might want to try via the disk prompt.


    First simply try running a couple of commands and hope that windows will resume normally again.


    The commands to try are:


    chkdsk
    fixboot
    fixmbr


    Then exit, remove cd and cross your fingers and attempt both normal mode and the
    safe too.

    If the above doesn't prove helpful, then secondly, try to restore the registry.
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/307545

    There is another thought that comes to mind which is if you are utilizing a functional pc at this time, then you might want to build a slipstream cd with sp3.

    Then with the cd above, you can perform a repair installation.
     
  6. CoolRaze

    CoolRaze Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Thank you for the other info....working on it now....As far as the other....after I downloaded the script for those 2, they would only disable....not enable....tried it 3 times...each time said disabled...but thanks
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/801748

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice