Explorer.exe problem? can only open programs from task manager! help!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

precolor

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Messages
18
Hiya,

I am relatively new to these forums so bear with me!

I am in a predicament where I had a virus, spyware etc, my computer was pretty
bogged down, having used spyware doctor and manually removed it all, i then ran
a mcafee scan and it removed a couple of trojans.
As far as i can tell the computer is clean now! (only mcafee is running, spyware
doctor was unistalled)

The problem with my start menu, on boot up it takes about 20 minutes to load and
it is so slow i cannot even get far enough to the control panel as it just
freezes.

I can open programs from task manager and they work fine. Everything is also
hunkydory in safe mode.

Also if i try to run hijackthis, it scans about 3/4 and then stops giving me the
server busy box switch to retry etc but this doesnt happen with any other
programs!

I have tried temporary disabling various start up programs on boot from msconfig
but that didnt work! starting to wonder if explorer.exe is corrupt!

Does anyone have any possible explanations? im tearing my hair out!
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
1,092
Precolor, You are probably still infected.
You need to go here;
http://forums.techguy.org/54-malware-removal-hijackthis-logs/
**Read all the sticky posts and don’t do anything until instructed to by an Expert.

I will contact an Administrator, and ask them to help you.

*Please be patient, there are a lot of people waiting for help as this is a big problem, so spend your time researching, Security Help Tools and any thing else that you can find to help you learn how to avoid this in the future.

Rules;
Log Analysis/Malware Removal - In order to ensure that advice given to users is consistent and of the highest quality, those who wish to assist with security related matters must first graduate from one of the malware boot camp training universities or be approved by the administration as already being qualified. Those authorized to help with malware issues have a gold shield
next to their name and authorized malware removal trainees have a blue shield
next to their names. Anyone wishing to participate in a training program should contact a Moderator for more information.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,183
I don't understand what you're saying about HijackThis as it doesn't have any need to connect to a server. Are you not able to produce a HijackThis log?
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,183
Thanks Candy, yet another duplicate. :rolleyes:
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,183
Have you tried doing a system restore to see if it corrects this problem?

You may restore some infection but we can deal with that.
 

precolor

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Messages
18
Hi,

Firstly sorry for the late reply, this is my works computer.

Also apologies, didnt realise i was posting on the same site.

In answers to your question, yes i cannot provide a hijack this log because of that problem.

I very much doubt i am still infected, I have used Superantispyware, AVG, Mcafee and Spyware doctor all at different times and all are clean now.
I have also defragged, cleaned with CCleaner etc.

Yes have done system restore also and it made no difference.

Thanks
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,183
Are you receiving assistance on another site?
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
I think he meant the duplicate post that you closed ;)
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,183
Yes but to me it sounds like he posted that duplicate thinking he was posting on another site, not here. I just want to get clarification on that. :)
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,183
Thanks for the clarification.

Have you tried running HijackThis in safe mode?
 

precolor

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Messages
18
Hi,

Yes i have tried in safe mode, gets 3/4 the way through, the same as in normal mode and then the server busy box comes up.
I cannot close it or anything, i have to end the task in task manager.

Thanks
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,183
Can you post a screenshot of the error that you're getting when trying to run HijackThis please.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top