Explorer - This program has performed an illegal operation window

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Dziga

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 6, 2005
Messages
9
If the problem persists, contact the program vendor.

I've tried fixing explorer through the tools section of System Information with no success. It began when I got a virus and some spyware. I've since removed those, but sadly, this problem still remains. If I close it, it reappears and has now worsened that it doesn't allow me to open certain programs and often freezes the computer.

EXPLORER caused an invalid page fault in
module <unknown> at 0000:3478476a.
Registers:
EAX=3478476a CS=0167 EIP=3478476a EFLGS=00010206
EBX=10000000 SS=016f ESP=008dfc64 EBP=008dfc80
ECX=00000000 DS=016f ESI=00000003 FS=1b77
EDX=c00309cc ES=016f EDI=00000000 GS=0000
Bytes at CS:EIP:

Stack dump:
100042f8 10000000 00000003 00000000 00000000 10000000 81598388 008dfe48 bff7ddd6 10000000 00000001 00000000 00000000 10000000 81598388 8159795a

Thanks for having this forum and any assistance would be greatly appreciated. :)
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
Hi Dziga

What operating system and version of Internet Explorer are you using?

Let us know.
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
What programs are affected?
Control Panel?
Browser?
Windows Explorer?
My Computer?

Is everything ok at bootup? No error messages at that time?

Have you tried accessing these programs in Safe Mode to see if you can duplicate the error?
_______________________________________________________________

Follow the steps in this article to see if a specific program is causing the problem
How to Perform Clean-Boot Troubleshooting for Windows 98

(Make a note of the programs listed in the System Configuration Utility)
Start > Run
key in:
msconfig
Select the Startup tab
Note all programs and whether they are checked to run at startup or not.
You can post them here as an aid for us.

You have scanned for new viruses since?
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2004
Messages
14
definelty some windows files are deleted or his computer is affected with virus.
 

Dziga

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 6, 2005
Messages
9
The majority of programs won't open in normal mode. The DSL is able to connect and IE functions well enough once its up. Things like Paint, Corel, My Computer, Control Panel and the like won't open in normal. No error messages until Windows comes up. The message doesn't come up in safe mode. I did an AVG virus scan which says everything's ok. Here's what I have checked for startup:

Taskbar Display Controls - RunLDD deskcp16...
Scan Registry - C:/WINDOWS/scanregw.exe /autorun
TaskMonitor - C:/WINDOWS/taskmon.exe
SystemTray - SysTray.Exe
LoadPowerProfile - Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll
Alogserv - C:programFiles/McAfee/McAfee VirusScan
QuickTime Task - C:/WINDOWS/SYSTEM/SERVICES/{4A478...
LoadPowerProfile - Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll, LoadCUrrentPwrScheme
SchedulingAgent - mstask.exe
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
Are you running Both AVG and McAfee as anti-virus scanners?
 

Dziga

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 6, 2005
Messages
9
I did a scan with each today and nothing came up. AVG is just a free version I downloaded a couple weeks ago and Mcaffee may be horribly outdated however.
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
Uninstall McAfee, having two anti-virus programs running simultaneously can lead to conflicts.

To rule out any remnants of viruses, go back into the System Configuration Utility and place a checkmark in all the entries
or click on Normal Startup on the General tab to: Load all device drivers and services.
Apply, OK, to save and close.
Reboot for the changes to take effect.

If you do not already have it, download HijackThis (ver 1.99)

Install HijackThis to a FOLDER on your C or main harddrive, do NOT install HijackThis to a temporary directory.
This will allow HijackThis to properly create backup files.

Start HijackThis
click on Do a system scan and save a logfile.
Most of what it lists will be harmless or even required, so do NOT fix anything yet.

Close HijackThis and post your complete logfile here and one of our security experts will take a look at it.
 

Dziga

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 6, 2005
Messages
9
I sent the log as an attachment because I can't open simple programs such as notepad to copy and paste it, but I can still use the internet sometimes. Hopefully what I uploaded there is useful to you.
 

Attachments

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
Posting your log to make it easier to read.
Is this with all the processes checked in the System Configuration Utility?

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.0
Scan saved at 11:44:37 PM, on 2/8/05
Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v5.50 SP1 (5.50.4522.1800)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\HIJACKTHIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://search.yahoo.com/search?p=%s
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer provided by Shaw High Speed Internet
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = 200.59.13.98:8080
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadQM] loadqm.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Service Host] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SERVICES\{4A4781A0-6B56-11D9-8303-0080C6FD2BC7}\SVCHOST.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WildTangent CDA] RUNDLL32.exe C:\PROGRA~1\WILDTA~1\APPS\CDA\CDAENG~1.DLL,cdaEngineMain
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVGFRE~1\AVGCC.EXE /STARTUP
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_EMC] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVGFRE~1\AVGEMC.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_AMSVR] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVGFRE~1\AVGAMSVR.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KAZAA] C:\PROGRAM FILES\KAZAA\KAZAA.EXE /SYSTRAY
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [THGuard] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\TROJANHUNTER 4.1\THGUARD.EXE"
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [McAfeeVirusScanService] C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\AVSYNMGR.EXE
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Taskbar Display Controls] RunDLL deskcp16.dll,QUICKRES_RUNDLLENTRY
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [msnmsgr] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\MSN MESSENGER\MSNMSGR.EXE" /background
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [AIM] C:\PROGRAM FILES\AIM\aim.exe -cnetwait.odl
O8 - Extra context menu item: &AIM Search - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\AIM TOOLBAR\AIMBAR.DLL/aimsearch.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Viewpoint Search - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\VIEWPOINT\VIEWPOINT TOOLBAR\VIEWBAR.DLL/CXTSEARCH.HTML
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {CD67F990-D8E9-11d2-98FE-00C0F0318AFE} - (no file)
O9 - Extra button: AIM - {AC9E2541-2814-11d5-BC6D-00B0D0A1DE45} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\AIM\AIM.EXE
O9 - Extra button: Related - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - C:\WINDOWS\web\related.htm
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - C:\WINDOWS\web\related.htm
O9 - Extra button: Shaw Help - {E9777C40-6743-11D6-8302-8473B20EC563} - http://support.shaw.home.com (file missing) (HKCU)
O9 - Extra button: WeatherBug - {AF6CABAB-61F9-4f12-A198-B7D41EF1CB52} - C:\Program Files\AWS\WeatherBug\Weather.exe (file missing) (HKCU)
O14 - IERESET.INF: SEARCH_PAGE_URL=
O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=
O15 - Trusted IP range: 213.159.117.202
O15 - Trusted IP range: (HKLM)
O16 - DPF: {556DDE35-E955-11D0-A707-000000521957} - http://www.xblock.com/download/xclean_micro.exe
O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://us.dl1.yimg.com/download.yahoo.com/dl/yinst/yinst_current.cab
O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Pool 2 - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/pote_x.cab
O16 - DPF: {644E432F-49D3-41A1-8DD5-E099162EEEC5} (Symantec RuFSI Utility Class) - http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/SharedContent/common/bin/cabsa.cab
O21 - SSODL: OLE Automation Module - {3F143C3A-1457-6CCA-03A7-7AA23B61E40F} - (no file)
O21 - SSODL: OLE Module - {0211C4D9-BC71-8916-38AD-9DEA5D213614} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\chupv.dll
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
Get rid of KAZAA it allows files that could be infected into your system.
Uninstall it.

Have you disabled McAfee? It is still showing in your HijackThis log.
It would be better if you also uninstalled McAfee.


Run an online Anti-Virus scan from at least one and preferably 2 of the following sites
http://housecall.trendmicro.com/
http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/
http://security.symantec.com/default.asp?
http://www.ravantivirus.com/scan/
Allow them to clean/delete any spyware/malware or viruses/trojans they may find.
Make a note of any files flagged that were unable to be cleaned or deleted.

Then rescan with HijackThis and post a new log.
 

Dziga

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 6, 2005
Messages
9
I tried removing McAfee in Add/Remove Programs since I couldn't find an actual uninstall file, but I guess I'll keep trying ways to remove it if that didn't do it. The Kazaa program has been gone for probably years, but I guess there's still files of these programs floating around which I'll have to find some way to get rid of. I'll try those anti-virus sites in a moment, although I remember the panda one stalls while scanning.

Still, thanks a lot for the help and I'll get back to you.
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
For McAfee, look in your Programs menu to see if Uninstall is an option.

For Kazaa, look in Windows Explorer using this path:
C:\PROGRAM FILES\KAZAA
and delete the Kazaa folder.

Also, delete your Temporary Internet Files.
Start > Settings > Control Panel > Internet Options > General tab.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top