1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Export/Import or Copy

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by dianerowley, Mar 29, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dianerowley

dianerowley Thread Starter

I am trying to help an elderly couple with their computer. I want to copy both their Favorites and address book onto a disk for them that they can then import to another computer when they get home.

Is it best to export/import onto a disk or just to copy it to a disk. I also want to make sure that the export/import process is a copy and doesn't remove it from the original pc.

Any step by step directions would be appreciated as I've never done this before.

Thanks in advance.

Diane

2. j neu

j neu

You can just use export. It won't remove them from the pc. When exporting browse to floppy a drive. Then you can import the same way.

3. dianerowley

Thanks for the info. I was afraid by exporting that I would be removing and not just copying.

I got so far in the process but am stumped. I wanted to perfect this on my pc before attemping to do it on their pc. I exported the address book to a disk. I went into "My Computer" and verified the file was there.

But when I wanted to see what the process was to import, and I go to my disk drive, it's blank. It doesn't show that the address book is there. What am I missing.

Also, will it know to put it in their Outlook Express Address Book on their other pc.

Thanks in advance.

Diane

4. j neu

j neu