1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Exporting part of database to excel

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by VANESSA1, Apr 28, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. VANESSA1

    VANESSA1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,914
    Hey OBP if you're around, I have a situation. I have a company that it would be easier to manipulate their data via spreadsheet than creating a report. Is there an easy and fast way to send their assets to a spreadsheet?
     
  2. draceplace

    draceplace

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,583
    If you right click on Access objects (tables and queries) you will see Export and Excel will be one of the option. You can export a complete table or create a query that gives you the desired data then right click and export.

    This can be automated with vba to run from a button on form if desired. You can also automate the email with attachment.
     
  3. Zack Barresse

    Zack Barresse

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,452
    You could also automate this right from Excel, assuming you knew the query [SQL] you needed.
     
  4. VANESSA1

    VANESSA1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,914
    This is an update to previous posts. I got the one query/export to work because it was one company at the main location and the physical location. Now my issue is one Main location and several physical locations. I tried to create the query with that one main location identifier but when I run it, its not bring back any data, just headings. Can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. Any ideas?
     
  5. OBP

    OBP

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,895
  6. VANESSA1

    VANESSA1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,914
    Is there a way I can send you just the query?
     
  7. draceplace

    draceplace

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,583
    You can go to SQL view and copy and paste the query here. We might be able to help.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Exporting part database
  1. Gevans0666
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    326
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1147395

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice