1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Exporting to dBase from Access

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Barrentine, Jan 12, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Barrentine

Barrentine Thread Starter

I'm a novice Access/database user with probably a novice problem. I am trying to export from Access to dBASE. I have followed the instructions for exporting data, searched the help function, the archives in this forum, and my books on Access and have not found the answer to my problem. When I try to save the query to a dBase file, I get a message that reads "field will not fit in record" I have the fields set up in the Access table exactly as the dBase user (my boss) described them. I have checked the fields in each record to see if the data is the correct size. The largest field is 34 and that is how my boss has it set up in his dBase tables. I have no idea how to proceed, and hope someone can help me. Thank you,

2. Anne Troy

Anne Troy

First Name:
    Anne
    What is the full name and extension of the Access database file, and what version of Access are you using?

How many tables do you have?
    Have you tried exporting them to Excel and then into dBase instead? Might be faster than trying to figure out this problem.

There are two references to this error in the internet, but neither provides more than the error itself--there's nothing about how to get around it.

3. Barrentine

Unfortunately, I am such a novice at this that I don't know the file name and extension. I'm using Access 2000. There is only one table. I did export to Excel, but when my boss tried to open in dbase the data was corrupted.
    Thank you for your reply.

4. Anne Troy

Anne Troy

First Name:
    Anne