External drive with Vista

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bobbylee

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
120
Hello everyone,
I just bought a new computer with vista on it,I have a 320 external hard drive that I pluged into a USB port...the problem is that it wont regonize the external drive,,,can someone tell me what going on please?


many thanks,bobbylee
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
291
Hello bobbylee!

To allow us to help us better, could you tell us more about your
computer, such as your version of Windows (Service Packs installed?),
are you using a 32 bit or 64 bit version of Windows, is this a
branded computer like Dell or HP, if it is, what's its make and
model. Or if you have built the computer yourself, what are the main
components used? Also, are you using any Anti-Virus software? If so,
which one?
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
Does this External HDD have anything on it?

Does it show up in Disk Management

Start>>right click Computer>>Manage>>Disk Management
 

bobbylee

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
120
my computer has Windows Vista 2009 Edition, Processor Intel(R) Corel(TM) 2 Duo CPU E7400 @2.80GHZ

Memory (Ram) 4.00 GB

System type 32- bit using Avast Antivirus, brother built this computer for melast week & gone on vacation for 2 weeks...the external drive has about 100 gigs on it..
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
Does it show up in Disk Management

Start>>right click Computer>>Manage>>Disk Management
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
Do other USB devices get recognized....and have you tried that HDD on another PC.......when you plug it in does anything happen
 

bobbylee

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
120
yes my older computer with windows xp shows up on it without no problem...
 

bobbylee

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
120
I even unpluged the keyboard usb port & tried it in that port...no response
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
Do you have all Vista updates?

Does the External HDD have its own power supply?
 

bobbylee

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
120
yes I have all Vista updates, & the external drive is plug in & use...thats all I done on windows xp...it work fine
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top