External Hard Disk Drive won't work

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

froggy334

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 24, 2007
Messages
8
I have a Philips External Hard Disk Drive (SPD5420/SPD5430) that recently quit working. I had used it for the majority of the day then all of a sudden the little purple light turned off. I have plugged it into other drives and it still wont work. When plugged into my pc, it says "please insert disk into drive F." I've tried changing the path and that won't work either. Anyone know if i can possibly recover my files from this drive?
Thanks a bunch!
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
2,503
Will the drive its self come out of the enclosure it's in and can it be hooked up to an IDE cable inside your system? Sometimes it's the enclosure and not the HD itself that causes an issue. If you can check the HD to make certain it's the problem and not the enclosure you would be able to determine if you could transfer data in this way. If it's the HD I know you can pay to have the data transferred but I understand it's pretty expensive. I'm sure there are other ways as well but not those options are not within my skills. Let us know...Jazz
 

froggy334

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 24, 2007
Messages
8
Ooops sorry, I should be more specific. It's a small 12GB Hard Drive with a fold out USB connector. Only other cable that came with it is the USB extension cable. I also heard it was very expensive. Sounds like i'm outta luck. :(

Appreciate the help Jazz!
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
You might still be able to get the drive out of the case. If it is a small drive, an adapter to connect it to an internal IDE connection inside your machine is around $5.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2004
Messages
3,888
Normally I would expect the hard disk, being a well made precision intrument grade, will last longer than the electronic components of the hard disk enclosure. Typically in UK we could buy an 3.5" external enclosure for GBP 15 and the one for 2.5" GBP 10. A hard disk costs easily several times more.

Therefore I expect if you replace the external enclosure your hard disk should work as before.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
2,503
Can I ask if you've plugged it into another system to check to see if it's the system or the external that might be having the problem? Let us know Jazz
 

midnight51

Banned
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
182
I agree - before deciding anything serious I would try plugging it into a friends system or a few friends even just to get a better idea of the situation.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
2,503
Glad to hear it froggy. It's always nice to hear someone is up and running without throwing money at a new part. Have a great one...Jazz
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top