External hard drive not being shown

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Jim624

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
221
Just got a Seagate 80GB hard drive......going to use it as an external drive. I connected it to my enclosure and it shows up in Device manager but does not show up on My Computer........what am I doing wrong.... I have other external drives that work just fine. Is there something about the jumpers I need to change ???
Win XP Pro

Jim
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Right click on My Computer, Manage, Disk Management. Locate the drive and right click on it. You can Initialize, Partition, and Format it there. It will then appear in My Computer like any other drive.
 

Jim624

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
221
Did what you said......but when I try to format it it says "Windows could not complete the format" and windows cannot format thsi disk.....it is showing in Device manager and in My COmputer.....but it does not want to format
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
There could be something about the drive, perhaps it's defective? I can't say, but with a properly working USB/Firewire drive, that process should format it without any issue. Did you check the event log and see if there's any clue there?
 

Jim624

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
221
How would I check the event log ??? This is starting to aggravate me......this was a new in the box sealed 80GB hard drive.......

What is your email address so we can work this out quicker !!!

Mine is [email protected]
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2003
Messages
3,956
Pull the configuaration jumper caps (master / slave/ cable select) out and leave them out, this is what I had to do with my external drive.
 

Jim624

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
221
I've movd the jumper all over the place........still won't format
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
3,370
Think outside the BOX. Install the drive internally and partition/format it. THEN put it back in the enclosure and see what happens.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2003
Messages
3,956
Before you put it back in the enclosure, you still have to remove the jumper cap so it can be reconized as a external drive.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
3,370
Pronute,

What is behind the story about removing the jumper? I don't use external drives at this point so haven't come across that before. Would you still do that if the normal Single/Master config called for a jumper to be on???

Did that documentation come with your enclosure?
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Most external drives that I've seen want the jumper set to Master. So far, that has always worked for me.....
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
The removing the jumper confused me too. All the external drive cases I've used (quite a few) have specified jumpering as master. According to this Seagate Jumpering Diagram, no jumpers sets the drive to slave. :confused:
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top