1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

external hard drive not recognized

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by kirah, Mar 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kirah

kirah Thread Starter

Hi I am totally new to this but figure my blonde brain will be able to fix the problem if it is possible. I have an HP notebook dv 9700 PC, however the problem lies with my external hard drive, Being blonde...:) I dropped it on a hard floor and my computer will no longer detect it. I'm sure this question has been posted many times and sorry to bring it up again, but I have been reading through so many posts on so many sites and have found nothing that seems to work for me. Any suggestions? Thank you so much-Kirah

2. maceman

maceman

Hi Kirah,

What kind of hard drive you're talking about? Is there any light when you connect it?

3. Hughv

Hughv

Hard drives seldom survive this kind of accident.
    You can try removing it from the case and connecting it via USB cable or internally, but it doesn't look good.

4. kirah

kirah Thread Starter

Thanks for your replies, there is a light on when I turn it on, my computer no longer recognizes it. I do not remember what type of hard drive it is and there is nothing written on the casing, just a metal jacket. Does this mean my data is lost forever? Or can it be repaired or extracted in a shop? it is a terrabyte almost full:(

5. blakcshadow

blakcshadow

You might have damaged the SATA to USB card inside. You might be able to remove the drive and either use an external SATA enclosure or attach it internally

6. kirah

kirah Thread Starter

Thanks, I wish I knew what you were talking about, I'm not too sure about taking apart my computer...I would not know where to begin. I'll look into it. Thanks again.

7. Hughv

Hughv