1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

: External hard drive not showing in my computer and cant initialize help?!

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by jonstifler, Aug 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jonstifler

    jonstifler Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    I just got a new Packard bell go
    external hard drive which I used for a
    couple of days with no problem. btw it
    has never fell or had any physical
    damage. I plugged it one day into the
    PC and it couldn 't be detected in my
    computer. it shows up in devices and
    printers and also in disk management.
    I read on some forums to try and
    initialize it but it gives me an error
    saying cyclic redundancy check. I 've
    tried everything but still not working.
    this is a new hard drive which has
    never fell and no physical damage.
    and please don' t tell me to return it
    cos it was bought in another country.
    the only option right now is to fix it .
    any help ?? thanks
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,827
    First Name:
    David
    Make sure you are using the cable that came with the drive. I have seen people try and use their camera cable and they do NOT work with drives.
     
  3. jonstifler

    jonstifler Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    yup I'm using the original cable. its brand new so everything's intact. and I've also tried it on different PC's bit still no luck.
     
  4. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,863
    Is it still in Warranty ???
    Is this one of the new USB 3.0 models ???

    Next time it might be better to build your own with an external enclosure and a good hard drive..
    Then you could get to the HDD without voiding the warranty to find out if it's the enclosure or the HDD.
    It's my experience that the enclosure is less reliable than the HDD .. If you get a good brand
     
  5. jonstifler

    jonstifler Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    yeah its one of the new USB 3.0 models. a Packard Bell Chroma. it shows up in disk management as unallocated and when I try to initialize it I get that error. is there some kinda software or something that can fix it? again, no physical damage cos its always handled properly.
     
  6. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,863
    Not that I know of .. Hopefully, Someone else with a better answer will check in.
     
  7. jonstifler

    jonstifler Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    np thanks for ur help. anybody else know how to fix it??
     
  8. jonstifler

    jonstifler Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    nobody? anybody who has an idea should please advise on what to do. need help!
     
  9. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,827
    First Name:
    David
    Take it back where you got it and see if they have a machine that it will work with.
     
  10. jonstifler

    jonstifler Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    as i said, i bought it in another country so returning it is not an option. there must be a software or something to fix it.
     
  11. jonstifler

    jonstifler Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    just wondering, do most of the new USB 3.0 external hdds have problems or something?? are u saying its better to stick to the USB 2.0 models for now while the 3.0s are being perfected??
     
  12. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,863
    They don't have problems that I know of ...
    But I think there's a length restriction on the USB 3.0 cable ...
    Most Computer aren't USB 3.0 capable ...
    And I think the USB 3.0 might be faster that current HDD technology can supply.

    I'm Sticking to USB 2.0 for a while .. It's fast enough for me ..
    If Not .. I'll connect mine eSATA .. But there's an Auto play problem doing that.
    Have to reboot the computer before eSATA is recognized ..
    And Don't turn it off before the computer.
     
  13. jonstifler

    jonstifler Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    oh ok. or maybe i should try hooking it up with a USB cable with two cords connecting to the PC to boost the power supply. I don't have that kind of cable right now but is it possible that the hdd is not showing up in my computer bcos the power being supplied to it is not enough?! hard drive spins and makes some unusual noise but it automatically goes off after sometime. idk this thought just came into my mind.
     
  14. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,863
  15. jonstifler

    jonstifler Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    thanks! gonna try that and see how it goes.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1010541

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice