1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

External Hard Drive Stop Spinning

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Sharmaine, Jun 24, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Sharmaine

    Sharmaine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    I dont know what happened to it but when i plug the usb nothing happens. I tried listening but i heard bothing. I think it stopped spinning. What can i do to get it spinning again? Could i open the drive and put it into my laptop? IS there a way I can recover the data myself?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,864
    depends on what type of external drive it is - 2.5 or 3.5
    laptopp of desktop if you like
    make and model of the unti may help
    I suspect it should spin up as soon as the power is switched on to it...
     
  3. Rumpo-Stiltskin

    Rumpo-Stiltskin

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    958
    Certainly more information would be helpful...... ;)

    Check it's power supply if it has one.
     
  4. Sharmaine

    Sharmaine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    I dont know if its a 2.5 or 3.5. The power is plugged in. Its external and the power light comes on when i plug it in. Here are the specs:

    200.0 GB

    Manufactured By
    Magnetic Data Technologies
    www.mdtglobal.com
    Enhanced IDE Hard Drive

    Drive Parameters: 7200RPM . ATA 100 . 2MB Buf .
    5vcd 12vcd

    S/N: MMAEH1979870
    S/N: MMAEH1979870

    MDL: MD02000-BABW
    MD02000-BABW
    DATE: 01 AUG 2005
    DID: BB00DWA02000
    BB00DWA02000
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Well, it's clearly a 3.5" drive. If the drive does not spin up when the power is connected, it's a defect either in the external P/S, the enclosure, or the drive. Of course, something could be unplugged too...
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,864
    as its 3.5 you could put into a desktop as a slave and read the data off - it the drive works OK
    i think there maybe adapters you can put into a drivebay on a laptop and read drives - but not really done that before
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Laptop 2.5" drives only use 5V, 3.5" drives require 12V, so I doubt an adapter to directly connect to a floppy is all that common. :)
     
  8. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,417
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    That's for connecting a laptop drive to a desktop, however he has a 3.5" desktop drive.
     
  10. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,417
    Glad you are so sure:
    "I dont know if its a 2.5 or 3.5" doesn't sound ,like user knows....
    Doesn't sound like you knew either:
    "Laptop 2.5" drives only use 5V, 3.5" drives require 12V, so I doubt an adapter to directly connect to a floppy is all that common"
    Glad you are now so positive...I wanted to cover all bases.
     
  11. Rumpo-Stiltskin

    Rumpo-Stiltskin

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    958
  12. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,417
    I agree Rumpo, but I am not sure how many people realize how easy it is to read a laptop drive in a desltop, so I wanted to post that anyway.
     
  13. Rumpo-Stiltskin

    Rumpo-Stiltskin

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    958
    No harm done i'm sure.
    The hardest part of any troubleshoot on this forum is trying to work out what people are talking about.
    The answers are the easy bit. :)
     
  14. Sharmaine

    Sharmaine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    I dont know if you guys realize this but its not in my laptop. It an external. Its in a case. My laptops Hard drive is fine
     
  15. Rumpo-Stiltskin

    Rumpo-Stiltskin

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    958
    Yep.
    We know.
    Just trying to establish the type/size of drive in the enclosure. ;)

    Something like this that Rich posted:

    http://sewelldirect.com/usbtoideadapterwith35to25converter.asp

    would allow you to connect the bare drive (from inside the external case) to your laptop (without having to open the computer).
    But it might be just as well to buy a replacement enclosure to replace the failed one.
    Although we still haven't established that the drive itself actually works any more......

    Do you not have a desktop system that you could connect it directly to?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/478009