External Hard drive unknown , not initialized & no Space

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

rasmy56

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2018
Messages
5
External Hard drive WD1600BEVS/160GB unknown, not initialised and no space showing in windows 10

How can i solve and safely get all the data?

Please kindly help, Tank you in advance

In devices & printer i troubleshoot
There are problems with some PnP devices. Windows will take additional steps to further troubleshoot these device

upload_2018-9-11_12-45-24.png
upload_2018-9-11_12-47-38.png
 

Triple6

Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,930
First Name
Rob
Does it work with another USB cable or on another computer? Please try both.
 

rasmy56

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2018
Messages
5
Does it work with another USB cable or on another computer? Please try both.
I tried in another computer in windows 7 and also window 8 same result

See the link the enclosure broken and i dont have any history about it
https://ibb.co/nORE9p

And i have tested with wd diagnosis
Results;
Test Option: QUICK TEST
Model Number: WD
Unit Serial Number:
Firmware Number: 1.05
Capacity: 0.00 GB
SMART Status: Not Available
Test Result: PASS
Test Time: 15:05:18, September 11, 2018

Test Option: EXTENDED TEST
Model Number: WD
Unit Serial Number:
Firmware Number: 1.05
Capacity: 0.00 GB
SMART Status: Not Available
Test Result: FAIL
Test Error Code: 08-
Test Time: 15:07:12, September 11, 2018

And tried with some of other tools.. also drive not detected even detect can not able to scan.

Thank you for ur time please kindly guid me
 

managed

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
13,700
First Name
Allan
Take the drive out of the case and if it has standard connectors try installing it as an internal drive then see if it works.
 

rasmy56

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2018
Messages
5
Take the drive out of the case and if it has standard connectors try installing it as an internal drive then see if it works.
Hello,

I have extract hard drive from case enclosure, and connect to power cable's second adaptor and connect CD ROM's SATA data cable and power on
and first boot error "Hard drive error" see below link
https://ibb.co/kxCipp
https://ibb.co/bS14vU

Second i try to get boot menu and force boot from my internal hard drive under Legacy Boot Source
widows power on but result is same for my external drive (unknown, not initialised & no Space) see the links below,
https://ibb.co/bHkKUp
https://ibb.co/cbJTN9

and see extracted external drive images has some damages too. links below,
https://ibb.co/c2wyN9
https://ibb.co/kXjPvU
https://ibb.co/nL9UUp

so based on this scenario expert like you what can be conclude as my solution for data recovery/get drive work.

thank you very much for your times
 

managed

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
13,700
First Name
Allan
First I should say that I'm not an expert at this.

If the data is very important you could use a data recovery company to try to retrieve it but that will be expensive.

If you just want to use the drive you can try the methods in this video but you do risk making the drive useless :-

 
Joined
Oct 7, 2017
Messages
4,489
First Name
Darrin
Just FYI this is a cross post from the following

http://www.geekstogo.com/forum/topi...nknown-not-initialized-no-space/#entry2627706

Many of us work on the same forums so cross posting can cause confusion, conflicting information and a waste of our valuable time that could be used to help others. It is often against the terms of use in some forums and considered poor forum etiquette. At the very least, each site should be informed of your post so the same efforts are not duplicated. Once any solutions are found then they should be submitted on all posts to not leave any open threads. Please see the following regarding cross posting etiquette.

https://www.excelguru.ca/content.php?184y
 

rasmy56

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2018
Messages
5
Hello @Triple6 @managed and @dckeks ,

First of all thank you for all of your precious time and efforts,
I have encountered & I sincerely apologise for attempted to cross post simultaneously in multiple forum,

since this is my first experience in forums you all may forgive me and do continuous advise and solution help under for this topic.

As per the rule guidance i will continue my discussion on forum Computerhope (bcs it mixed with some negativity on me.)
Thread link here..
https://www.computerhope.com/forum/index.php/topic,168862.0/all.html
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top