External hard Drive

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Jim624

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
221
Took a 60 GB HD out of an older HP and am trying to make it work as an external Hard Drive. Windows is recognizing it....I go to my computer and I see "G" drive.....but whenever I try to format it it goes almost through the whole process then a window pops up that says "Windows cannot complete the format". I have tried this format on three different computers.....no luck. The jumper on the back is set on CS....ANY HELP PUUUHHH LLLLLLLEEEAAAASSSEEEE !!!!!
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2006
Messages
550
How' bout going to the hard drive manufacturer's website and look for a utility to check the integrity of the drive?

May be on it's last leg...
 

dustyjay

Jay
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
12,661
On a lot of External drive enclosures the drive needs to be set as master for it to function properly. Unless the assembly instructions say differently I would give a try with the drive jumpered as master.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
For the best test, connect the drive as a secondary drive to your desktop system and run the manufacturer's diagnostic on it. USB connections limit the ability of the tests to do a complete test.
 

Jim624

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
221
I went to the manu. site.....downloaded the software and it still will not format..... I have also put the jumper on every possible jump.....still no format......
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Did you try it as a secondary drive connected directly to an IDE channel?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Take the hard disk out of the USB enclosure.

Remove all the devices on the secondary IDE channel, normally CD/DVD drives.

Connect the hard disk to the end of the cable and connect a power connector.

You don't have to install it, just find a cardboard box to set it on so the cables reach, and don't kick over the box. :D

Boot up the system, and you'll have access to the drive if it's alive. You can also run any diagnostics on it with it connected in this manner.
 

Jim624

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
221
Bought another external case.....connected it all up and it formatted just fine.......should of paid heed to my deer departed dad's words of wisdom....when working on ANYTHING electrical in nature always check the easiest, simplest fix first. Thanks for all your replies !!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top