1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

External HD died, need to recover data myself

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by snowghost, Jul 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. snowghost

    snowghost Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    What I want to know, is there any I can recover the data my self, with out having to send it to a recovery place.
     
  2. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    What is the symptoms, how do you connect it, and what make and model is it?
     
  3. snowghost

    snowghost Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    It is a WD 120 gig firewall USB 2.0, modle # WD1200B006-RNN.

    I have talked to tec support at WD, and they seem to thank it is dead

    symptons- it just dose not run, the power light still comes on and now the red light comes on
     
  4. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    In that case you cannot perform the recovery.

    Sorry.
     
  5. snowghost

    snowghost Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Kinda what I thought.
    I did have some tell I mite be able to remove the disk and put them in a working case, is this getting way out there
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You can remove the physical drive and connect it as a secondary drive to a desktop machine. If the case was the problem, you should be able to access the data.
     
  7. snowghost

    snowghost Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Will let you know if this works, just gotta figure out how to get the case off LOL
     
  8. Relando

    Relando

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    I have the same hard drive but it is coming up at zero bytes and a file system as RAW

    It asks to be formated everytime I double click on it

    any help would be great
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/486680

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice