1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

External HDD I/O device error

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by KeyStroke, Jan 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. KeyStroke

    KeyStroke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    I have an external Western Digital 3.5" HDD (HDD+Enclosure). It ran fine for a few month untill I started getting this error recently when I try to move some specific file out of it:
    (where <filename> is the file name i'm trying to copy)

    I tried defragmenting the HDD, re-fromatting it and chkdsk, yet I still get this error.

    What could be wrong?
     
  2. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,098
    Howdy,

    Try this: Device Manager

    To get to Device Manager click Start>>Run type devmgmt.msc click OK

    Click the plus (+) sign next to Disk Drives.

    Double-click the drive you having problem with.

    Click the Policies button and then click Optimize for performance.
     
  3. KeyStroke

    KeyStroke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    Hello Bonk,

    Thanks for your reply, but all my drives are already set to "Optimize for performance"

    any other ideas?
     
  4. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,098
    What format is the drive in...Fat32 or NTFS?
     
  5. KeyStroke

    KeyStroke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    It's NTFS, and the drive isn't SATA by the way.
     
  6. KeyStroke

    KeyStroke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    I've used Western Digital's diagnostic tool, then the result showed "too many bad sectors". I'm not that good in hardware, can this be fixed through software?
     
  7. KeyStroke

    KeyStroke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    Well, after I formatted it, it passed the test. What the hell..?
     
  8. gapstone

    gapstone

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    I have the same problem, however my question is that if I would to format my external harddrive will I lose everything because I do have a lot of information on my WD 500gb external hard drive and I don't want to loose all of my saved data!
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/534540