External hdd undetected after plug in

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kelish

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 25, 2008
Messages
50
Hi,

I've just bought a SATA external harddisk. The harddisk was not detected once i plugged into my computer or show an icon in my Computer. But I've try with other computer, it works.

Is my computer missing something to perform the detection?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,418
First of all, how does the external connect to your system? Is it usb, firewire, or esata?

Next what os do you have installed?
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2008
Messages
472
Plug unit into computer > Right-Click on My Computer > Click Manage > Click "Disk Management" (May take a minute to load)

Do you see the drive listed here? If so what is the status? Before you continue and tinker here - let us know...
 

kelish

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 25, 2008
Messages
50
Under "Disk Management" The external hdd is not detected. When i bought brand new i'm not sure the guy got partition it..
But I've checked it with other computer under "disk management" and under it's Layout. It says there partition.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,418
You are asking for help however you have not answered the posted questions; how is the drive connected to the system? Is it usb, firewire or esata?
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
Crj I would assume it's esata because he says it's an external sata drive but the real question is how is it connected? Do you have an esata port or card and is it turned on in bios if it's on the board and have you tried the pci card if used in another system to be sure it works. You also need to have the right cable for the esata card you know.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,418
Yes, that is what I am trying to find out. I have a sata drive in an external and it [the external case] has options to connect to the system via usb or esata.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top