External Hdd

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

aidee12

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
47
Hi,
I have a 500GB Ext HDD. If I make a 'clone' of my Computer HDD, then completely Re-install my System, can I then re-install all my files, programs. applications, emails and Contacts , IE and favorites, from the External HDD?
AD,
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2012
Messages
22
DO NOT, DO NOT 'clone ' your C (Root) Drive.Trust me on this, It doesn't end well.
Copy Your files, Then memorize your settings, Then proceed from there is My advice
Good Luck
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,228
As previously said ... NO

You cannot reinstall programs by coping them from a system drive ... They must be reinstalled.
Some settings, etc, can be recovered from a system drive .... (even if it's no longer bootable)
But It’s easier to backup your data files, emails, contacts etc, to the XHD and recover them after you reinstall.

After you get your system freshly installed and configured the way you like it ... "Image" it to a data file in your XHD ..
I use Acronis, but Here’s some free Imaging suggestions ... (Macrium is very popular)
 

aidee12

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
47
Hi,
Thanks for your answers, but I'm afraid they do not help as I am not savvy enough.
I want to completely re-install my System (Windows Vista existing on the Computer,
or Win 7 complete install).
Exactly, step by step, how do I do this. This is the help I need.
AD
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
34
DO NOT, DO NOT 'clone ' your C (Root) Drive.Trust me on this, It doesn't end well.
Why is this? I cloned a laptop drive one time, I needed a bigger drive and the old one was failing, the new drive came with an external case and cloning software, I hooked the new drive up via. USB and ran the cloning software and it copied the old drive to the new one then I switched the drives out and all was well.
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,228
The HDD in the external must be the same size and type ... to physically work in another computer
Cloning to a drive wipes out all the existing data in it ...
Cloning makes an exact copy .. Problems and all ....

He wanted a fresh install .. and to be able to move his installed programs from the "old" Clone to the freshly installed HDD ..
Cloning would not have accomplished his desired task.
 

aidee12

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
47
Thanks noyb, You have told me that I was wrong to do as I said, and I thank you and the others who have prevented me from making a B-I-I-G mistake, but it does not help with what I want to do, see my last post.
AD
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,228
Cloning can be you best friend.
I have an external that has a Clone of my last fresh install.
If anything happens .. All I have to do is physically swap my HDDs .. And I have a brand new computer.
It helps to have your operating system and all your data in two different partitions.
Earlier this week, I had a HDD develop a bad sector.
All I had to do was clone a new one from my backup
 

Attachments

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top