Solved External HDD

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Noyb

Jay
Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,286
A friend showed me his Seagate External 4tb HDD was not functional because of a too full warning on W10
I brought it home and it’s Copyable on my W10 or W7 …. But too full with only 12.7 Gig loaded ???

Suggestions ???
 

Attachments

Oddba11

Jim
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
8,393
Have you tested it with SeaTools?

I'd say it corrupted in some way, or infected.
 

Noyb

Jay
Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,286
Good Idea .... But it passed SeaTools ???
 

Attachments

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,723
Have you opened an Admin command prompt and run CHKDSK on it?

Win-X then A
will open the command prompt.

CHKDSK E: /F will check the entire directory structure and correct any errors it finds.

Obviously, I'm assuming that the graphic you posted is correct and the drive letter is indeed E:
 

Noyb

Jay
Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,286
Yes ... It's E:
I've run a clean Shadow files on it ... And It'll be several hours before the Sea Tools long Generic Test is finished.
Thanks, I'll do the CHKDSK on it then.

I'd like to meet the Guy who sold him a 4TB ... He'll never fill it up.
 

Noyb

Jay
Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,286
This is going back to his computer today, I think I have a copy of all his files and it seems to work OK on my Computers.
CHKDSC found no errors
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Noyb

Jay
Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,286
The Main Problem was his W10
And running it on my W7 to start with or My W10 might have helped.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top