1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

External HDD

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by raybro, Aug 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. raybro

raybro Thread Starter

Hello Everyone... I'm considering adding an external hard drive to my system to use as a redundant storage point for my backups using either Acronis TI and/or BootIt NG. My question is what would be the best interface to use for my system. I have an older Dell XPS-R400, P2 400MHz with the original mobo. Maxed out on SDRAM PC-100 384MB. My single serial port is in use with my UPS. I have USB 1.0, so I would probably need to buy a PCI card to upgrade to 2.0. (if that is the recommended interface). Things I don't know about this would fill a book, so treat me gently, it's my first time. If anyone has some reference sites for me to look at, that would be good. I already have 2 internal IDE HDD's (120MB Master & 80MB Slave). Basically I need to get familiar with the various interface terms and the ones my system is compatible with.

EDIT.. Forgot to mention I also have an external 1GB JAZ drive connected via an Adaptec SCSI PCI card.

Raybro

2. qldit

qldit

Good Afternoon raybro, if you have a spare IDE connector you might consider an IDE removeable internal caddy drive and tray.
    This simply plugs when needed to a dead system and when booted is available as a standard hard drive with the same properties.

It is amazing to see your P2 is performing there, I would expect it would be like a snail in reverse if you have all the malware protection and stuff loaded.

These drive caddies can be useful for extra system booting or all kinds of ideas dependent on the boot order set, or remain as simple storage.