1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

external monitor problems

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by cthcth18, Feb 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cthcth18

    cthcth18 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    I have come into the posession of a Hyundai N91W monitor. I am using a VGA cable to connect my laptop and the monitor. They both seem to acknowledge each other's signals, but I can't see anything on the external monitor. The contrast and brightness settings are fine, but it's almost as if i have a black wallpaper with nothing on it!!

    I don't need to be able to use the screens together or side-by-side or whatever else, as i have very little desk space (being a lowly student). My housemate who is more knowledgeable in the world of computers than i am is trying to help, but is also quite stuck with how to work this one out (it was his monitor, but has since bought a new one after sending this one off for repair and receiving a replacement, which does work fine on his superduper desktop).

    Please help as 12.1" screen is driving me barmy!!!

    cthcth18 xxx
     
  2. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    There is a Hotkey on my laptop to switch displays F5
     
  3. cthcth18

    cthcth18 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    I'm not that much of a beginner! But thanks anyway, we've already tried the hotkey. The screen receives the signal, as the "no input" popup disappears, but there is just no picture!
     
  4. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    You check in video card setup....

    When it was on your friends PC was it using the same connection as yours...ie. VGA cable
     
  5. cthcth18

    cthcth18 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    done that. any more ideas?
     
  6. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    And this monitor also works on you friends system?
     
  7. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    If you have a CRT Monitor available can you try to verify that the port works, or have you already tried and verified the port that way? Trying to cover as many possibilities as possible.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/543464

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice