1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Facebook Freeze

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by mad_caper, Apr 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mad_caper

    mad_caper Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Using Firefox or Chrome, any time I have facebook open, and am logged into chat, my browser will freeze up.

    This didn't used to happen until about two or three weeks ago. I can't pinpoint anything that has changed that would have led to that. I've tried clearing out my cookies, but that didn't do anything.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks,
    Adam M
     
  2. bassmadrigal

    bassmadrigal

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    You might be having issues with whatever plugin is being used to play the notifications sound (I believe it is normally quicktime in windows). You can try removing quicktime and reinstalling it. I also believe you can go in under firefox and disable plugins manually. You could do this just to check and see if that is the problem. IIRC it should be under Tools -> Addons -> Plugins. Then just select the one you want and click on disable. The browser will have to restart. Chrome and firefox share the same plugins, so if you find the problem with firefox, it is probably the same culprit with chrome.
     
  3. chunkylover53

    chunkylover53

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Try using pop-out facebook chat?
     
  4. mad_caper

    mad_caper Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    I disabled Quicktime and, later, tried popping out fb chat. Neither one did the trick. Any other ideas?
    --Adam
     
  5. chunkylover53

    chunkylover53

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    why can't you use IE? I mean its horrible but see if it works on that
     
  6. mad_caper

    mad_caper Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    I'd really rather not use IE. Facebook USED to work in Firefox, I'm trying to figure out what has changed to make it not work.
     
  7. Nebastion

    Nebastion

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    548
    Yeah bassmadrigal. is right more than likley a plugin, my friend had issues with the skype plugin.
    What version do you have?
     
  8. mad_caper

    mad_caper Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Do you know which plugin, if it isn't Quicktime? I disabled the Quicktime plugin, and have the Chat sound turned off.
    Also, it doesn't freeze EVERY time someone sends a message or ONLY when someone sends a message. Sometimes it will freeze instantaneously, sometimes I will be browsing, etc. for a a few minutes or so.
    I'm not on the computer in question at the moment, so I don't know which plugin version I have. I will check back this evening.
    --Adam
     
  9. Nebastion

    Nebastion

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    548
    Could be malware related.
    Did you try a fresh install of Firefox?

    Download Malwarebytes. <<click < link < to < begin < download<<

    Install it, update it, Restart your computer and then do a quick scan with it, and post the log Here.

    Regards
    Neb.
     
  10. mad_caper

    mad_caper Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Here is my Malware log

    Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware 1.45
    www.malwarebytes.org

    Database version: 4035

    Windows 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3
    Internet Explorer 6.0.2900.5512

    4/25/2010 2:00:03 PM
    mbam-log-2010-04-25 (14-00-03).txt

    Scan type: Quick scan
    Objects scanned: 110808
    Time elapsed: 9 minute(s), 58 second(s)

    Memory Processes Infected: 0
    Memory Modules Infected: 0
    Registry Keys Infected: 0
    Registry Values Infected: 0
    Registry Data Items Infected: 0
    Folders Infected: 0
    Files Infected: 0

    Memory Processes Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Memory Modules Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Registry Keys Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Registry Values Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Registry Data Items Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Folders Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Files Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)
     
  11. Nebastion

    Nebastion

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    548
    Did you try a fresh install?
     
  12. mad_caper

    mad_caper Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    I did a fresh install of Firefox, which has stopped the crashing, but not the freezing exactly.

    Every couple of minutes or so I get a notification that a script has stopped running and I can either Stop It or Continue. It will lock up my computer for a moment or two, then move on.

    I tried disabling Quicktime (version 7.6.2) again, but with no luck.

    The script in question is www.facebook.com/home.php?21

    Thanks for all your help so far
     
  13. Emilth

    Emilth

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    i have the exact same problem, and i have found no answer to it jet. And i've even tried IE AND(!!!) logged on on different computers. I've uninstalled every app. i've ever added on facebook. Apperently this bug is integrated in my account somehow, i just dont got any ideas how to fix it!

    Would love an answer or a link to one!
     
  14. Emilth

    Emilth

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeh....... i've disabled a couple of firefox extensions now. dont remember their names... it seems to work.. at least for 10 mins. usually everythin froze every 30 sec no matter what i was doin on facebook... why the hell this solution affected the other browsers or other pc's is way beond me...
     
  15. Emilth

    Emilth

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    nope- now it ****ed up again. but it lasted way longer than usuall.... no freeze in 20 mins or so...
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/916745

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice