Facebook invalid security certificate problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

marsbs

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
5
So, I haven't had internet connection for 2-3 days, I just payed it a couple of hours ago and now when I try to connect to facebook it gives me this "facebook invalid security certificate". I tried using google chrome and that's what I got. After trying with mozilla and IE I got something compleately different. It lets me type my login info and when I press login, it re-directs me to the login page again...please help me, I have no idea what to do :/
 

dvk01

Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
First Name
Derek
check the time & date on your computer is correct first
 

marsbs

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
5
check the time & date on your computer is correct first
Thank you for the quick reply!
Yes, I forgot to mention that I tried to fix it already. Auto synchronized it from the windows server, tried to set it to 2008, 2010 and even 2013 and then reverse it...it doesn't seem to work. :/
 

dvk01

Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
First Name
Derek
is the time & date on your computer correct or does it actually show a different time & date
What region do you have the computer set at & what language settings

For example, if you are in Bulgaria, do you have computer set to Eastern Europe time zones & languages or are you set at US language & time zones etc

Do you have trouble on other secure sites like banking or paypal etc or is it only on facebook, that you get this error message

does windows update site work or do you get an error on that as well
 

marsbs

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
5
Everything in my Date & Time is ok. Time is correct (13:05), Time Zone is "GMT+2" (as it has always been). And no, I've tried opening paypal and some other secure sites and there seems to be no problem with them. I can also open the windows update website.
 

dvk01

Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
First Name
Derek
in that case there must be something wrong with facebook from your location
if other secure sites open, then it is extremely unlikely that any setting on your computer is wrong or, but there is just the possibility of a rogue dns entry or Trojan that is attempting to divert you to a fake facebook site
lets check for that

Download to Desktop: DDS by sUBs from one of the below locations

http://download.bleepingcomputer.com/sUBs/dds.com
http://download.bleepingcomputer.com/sUBs/dds.exe

double click DDS to run it
Make sure there is a check mark in DDS txt
place a check mark in the attach.txt box and then press start

Do not select any other options unless specifically told to

When complete, DDS.txt will openand attach.txt will be minimized on your taskbar, click on it to open it

Save both reports to your desktop.
DDS.txt
Attach.txt

post the contents of both logs back here.
 

dvk01

Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
First Name
Derek
OK
I see 2 things from that
1. your time is set to 2013 & not 2012 so that is one reason for the problem . You need to set it manually to correct time

2. You have Babylon crapware that can intercept all internet to allegedly translate & cause pop ups & diverts, especially on searches

Please download AdwCleaner to your desktop.
  • Double click the adwcleaner.exe to run the tool.
  • Click Search.
  • When the scan finished, a notepad window will be opened.
  • Please post the contents here in your topic.
  • The logfile will also be saved in C:\AdwCleaner[R1].txt.
 

dvk01

Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
First Name
Derek
Please run AdwCleaner again, This time press delete, It will clear the problems & then offer to reboot, please let it reboot & then post the log it makes.
The logfile will also be saved in C:\AdwCleaner[S1].txt

However, that will not cure it on Chrome. The only likely cure is going to be uninstall chrome, make sure you take the option to remove all user data.
first make sure that you are not set up to sync chrome with your google account, if you are, set it to stop sync first ( otherwise the backups on your google account will reinstall the malware).

There is no need to rar or zip the logs. They should be well within the limit to upload as simple txt file
Then reboot & reinstall chrome
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top