Facebook loading issues on PC browsers

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

babyblur75

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2012
Messages
8
Hi it just started these 2 days when i just cannot access facebook via normal PC browsers. The page wither take ages to load or I get time out error messages, empty responses error page etc. Even if I manage to login, the browser will be trying to load the next page for ages, only to return similar error pages. I am able to access FB from my mobile HP though so it cant be my FB account issue.

I have the same problem when i use a different machine and it happens to my FB account all the time. My family members encounter the same intermittently but not as bad as my case.

There dun seem to be any consistency or pattern on why it happens to some and doesnt though we are all ont he same network. I am suspecting though it is my router settings but am not sure how I can troubleshoot... When I use 3G via hotspot through my mobile HP, I seem to be able to at least login to my facebook account successfully though, loading is slower due to the limited bandwidth..

This is so frustrating...Thanks in advance!
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,320
There has been some issues with FB recently which only affects logging in via a browser. Logging via a cellphone or 'mobile' device like an iPad is not affected as they use a different webpage to log in.

How many computers are having this issue in your home network?
Who is your ISP?
Do you have a modem and router or a modem/router combination? What are the model numbers?

Please go to the Command Prompt (via Start > All Programs > Accessories) and type ping www.facebook.com -n 20 and wait for the results to show.
 

babyblur75

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2012
Messages
8
How many computers are having this issue in your home network?

(Most of Pcs/Laptops encounter same issue when logging to 2 accounts, while the other 2 accounts are intermittent)

Who is your ISP?
I am using Starhub and it is on Optic Fibre.

Do you have a modem and router or a modem/router combination? What are the model numbers?

Yes, there is a router by DLink (DVG-N5402SP) provided by the ISP. Understand we have to use their router which I guess is also the modem? There is also an Optic Fibre box (Nucleus Connect).

Please go to the Command Prompt (via Start > All Programs > Accessories) and type ping www.facebook.com -n 20 and wait for the results to show.


Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\>ping www.facebook.com -n 20

Pinging star.c10r.facebook.com [31.13.75.23] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 31.13.75.23: bytes=32 time=196ms TTL=242
Reply from 31.13.75.23: bytes=32 time=199ms TTL=242
Reply from 31.13.75.23: bytes=32 time=295ms TTL=242
Reply from 31.13.75.23: bytes=32 time=201ms TTL=242
Reply from 31.13.75.23: bytes=32 time=242ms TTL=242
Reply from 31.13.75.23: bytes=32 time=197ms TTL=242
Reply from 31.13.75.23: bytes=32 time=196ms TTL=242
Reply from 31.13.75.23: bytes=32 time=199ms TTL=242
Reply from 31.13.75.23: bytes=32 time=197ms TTL=242
Reply from 31.13.75.23: bytes=32 time=199ms TTL=242
Reply from 31.13.75.23: bytes=32 time=196ms TTL=242
Reply from 31.13.75.23: bytes=32 time=196ms TTL=242
Reply from 31.13.75.23: bytes=32 time=203ms TTL=242
Reply from 31.13.75.23: bytes=32 time=197ms TTL=242
Reply from 31.13.75.23: bytes=32 time=201ms TTL=242
Reply from 31.13.75.23: bytes=32 time=201ms TTL=242
Reply from 31.13.75.23: bytes=32 time=197ms TTL=242
Reply from 31.13.75.23: bytes=32 time=197ms TTL=242
Reply from 31.13.75.23: bytes=32 time=198ms TTL=242
Reply from 31.13.75.23: bytes=32 time=198ms TTL=242

Ping statistics for 31.13.75.23:
Packets: Sent = 20, Received = 20, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 196ms, Maximum = 295ms, Average = 205ms

C:\Users\tansw>
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,320
If you are in the states that is a high ping time. Other than that it's not a connectivity issue from what I can tell.

In Command Prompt type type C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts and post here. (providing this is 32bit)
 

babyblur75

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2012
Messages
8
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\tansw>type c:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts
# Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
# 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
# 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host
10.0.1.130 dspl

# localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
# 127.0.0.1 localhost
# ::1 localhost
127.0.0.1 localhost
 

babyblur75

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2012
Messages
8
By the way this is teh error I get on Chrome when accessing Facebook

No data received
Unable to load the webpage because the server sent no data.
Here are some suggestions:
Reload this webpage later.
Error 324 (net::ERR_EMPTY_RESPONSE): The server closed the connection without sending any data.


On Firefox:

The connection was reset

The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading.


The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few
moments.
If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network
connection.
If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure
that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.
 

babyblur75

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2012
Messages
8
Thanks so much still, I will monitor and see, cos it seems alright now. Yesterday when i was on my own wifi I cant go in, got a friend to log in my account from another location and he managed to go in though. So I thought was also due to my wifi...
 

babyblur75

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2012
Messages
8
My FB s down again, the weirdest thing is that when I turn off wifi and access via a mobile stick, I can access the pages. Once it is on my wifi, it just does not load. I read somewhere that there was some DNS issue, could that be the possible reason? There is no way I can set on my router settings to avoid it? Sorry, I am not so good on networking.. Also found an article to go in via www.o.facebook.com I am able to access my account this way with chrome though.

So is it just the facebook issue and not my router settings?
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,320
You might want to escalate with your internet provider to see if they have heard of any issues since you can go through a different internet source. Frontier has been having issues, perhaps your ISP is also having issues.
 

babyblur75

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2012
Messages
8
Thanks! I am in Singapore. Have escalated to them, guess they could not find the problem. Have cleared cache and all browser history, rebooted and reset the router... Was ok this morning, but it seems to be back on my chrome again now. Thanks alot still :) Guess I got to live with it for the time being...
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,320
(y) There may be some kind of proposed ban in Thailand, not sure if Malaysia would also be affected.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top