1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Factory reset hang?

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Violent, Mar 22, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Violent

    Violent Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    I have a desktop that's quite old at this point, but I want to restore it to factory settings as it used to work great. However, whenever I try to do so, it will restart the pc as it should, but it brings me to a blue screen where a window should pop up to start the restore, but nothing happens, it stays on a blank screen with only the mouse cursor.
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,758
    First Name:
    Frank
    What's the brand name and model name and model number of that desktop?

    Which Windows version and bit version did it come with?

    Are you trying to do a factory reset with a built-in restore partition or with a restore disc kit?

    --------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Violent

    Violent Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    HP Pavilion a6123w Desktop
    Came with Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit
    And I'm trying to use the built in partition
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,758
    First Name:
    Frank
    HP Pavilion a6123w Desktop PC

    Click How to, then click System Recovery / Backup / Restore in the drop-down menu, then click the article(s) that apply to you.

    ----------------------------------------------------------

    If the built-in restore partition is damaged or if the hard drive is replaced, you'll need the restore disc kit.

    You can purchase it here.

    ----------------------------------------------------------

    What problems are you having with that desktop?

    It may be something that we can resolve here.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. Violent

    Violent Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    It used to crash somewhat often, it hasn't recently though. The main problem is that windows update stays at 0%
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,758
    First Name:
    Frank
    That desktop was introduced in May 2007, so it should've come with the original version of Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit.

    The SP1 upgrade was released in March 2008.

    The SP2 upgrade was released in May 2009.

    Have both service packs been installed in it?

    Windows Update won't work or work properly without both service packs installed.

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. Violent

    Violent Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    I checked and it doesn't tell me I have either, so I am currently downloading SP1
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,758
    First Name:
    Frank
    Download and save SP1, then close all open windows, then install it.

    After SP1 is installed, download and save SP2, then close all open windows, then install it.

    Be aware the upgrade process for each service pack may involve multiple restarts and may take over an hour.

    After SP1 and SP2 are both installed, go to Windows Update and check for updates.

    Well over 100 important/recommended updates will likely be waiting to be downloaded and installed.

    You have several hours of work ahead of you.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. Violent

    Violent Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    I tried to install SP1 it gave me error code 0x80073712
    Tried the update readiness tool
    Error 0x80080005 server execution failed
    The pc is also on a clean boot if that changes anything
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,758
    First Name:
    Frank
    The Windows Vista operating system is over 7 years out of date, and we have no way of knowing what's been installed and how that computer has been used during all that time, so a clean reinstall and fresh start is probably your best option.

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. Violent

    Violent Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Are there any other ways, factory reset stays on that blank screen after it restarts to start the restore process, apparently I have no restore points for a system restore, and I don't have a disc because It did come with vista on the pc, so I wouldn't know if I ever had the cd for it
     
  12. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,758
    First Name:
    Frank
    It's my guess the built-in restore partition is damaged or corrupt, so you'll need the restore disc kit.
    I provided a link in post #4 as to where you can purchase the restore disc kit.

    Since the restore disc kit will likely have the original version of Windows Vista, you should download and save the SP1 and SP2 upgrades and then burn them to CD-R's or to a DVD-R.
    Doing this will save you a lot of time in getting it up-to-date.

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Factory reset hang
  1. Yvngmoore
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    862
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1145257

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice