factory restore help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jayjay77

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2019
Messages
2
hi guys , some advice needed if possible.

long story short i have a laptop from a previous employer that id like to factory restore and give to a friend.
the laptop doesn't seem to have the recovery manager options that you get during start up routines and i can't access through windows as the password has timed out ( was part of company security system to change passwords every few months.
any advice appreciated.
its a hp elite book 840
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
3,255
What OS is this running?

In disk management, is there a recovery partition.....usually labeled ad D drive. It should be about 12 to 15 GB in size. Then using HP recovery manager, you should be able to reset to factory install. It may not be there as this is a business laptop and that has all been removed for security reasons.
 

jayjay77

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2019
Messages
2
Hi, it’s windows enterprise 7. I can’t seem to get any recovery options during the boot up . I suspect the partition Is indeed removed so was trying for any other options.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
3,255
I can’t seem to get any recovery options during the boot up
It's not during boot up....go to "disk management" by right clicking the start button. Then select disk management and in the pop up window, what does it show? The HP recovery manager would be listed int the programs list. Skip the back up files portion.

 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,874
The HP EliteBook 840 series laptops have several models, so we need to determine which one you have.
What's the exact product number(P/N) and serial number(S/N) on yours?
What's the exact Windows version on its Certificate-Of-Authenticity sticker(if it has one)?

--------------------------------------------------------------
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,940
I'm sorry but you can't use a Windows 7 Enterprise PC for personal use. It's a violation of the licensing agreement. The only option is to purchase another version of Windows (preferably higher than 7 if the hardware will support it) with a valid retail license and install Windows which will wipe everything from the computer. Or just give it to them and let them purchase it since they're getting the hardware for free.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top