1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

factory restore using command prompt

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by needshelp2219, Dec 2, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. needshelp2219

    needshelp2219 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    what is the command for a factory restore using command prompt i can only use the command prompt my computer wont let me do anything else. i have a dell inspiron n5010
     
  2. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,484
    You are not able to access the recovery partition via CTRL+F11 on bootup?
     
  3. needshelp2219

    needshelp2219 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    no when i get to the system recovery options the only thing that will work is my command prompt and thats the first thing my computer goes to when i turn it on
     
  4. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,484
    Try this:


    1
    Turn on the computer.

    2
    As the computer starts, press F8 on the keyboard until the Advanced Boot Options menu appears on the screen.
    3 Select Repair Your Computer from the Advanced Boot Options menu, and then hit Enter.

    4 Specify the language you want, and then click Next.

    5 Log in as a user who has administrative rights, and then click OK.

    6 Click Dell Factory Image Restore.

    7 In the Dell Factory Image Restore window, click Next.

    8 Click Yes, reformat hard drive and restore system software to factory condition check box.

    9 Click Next.

    10 When the restore is complete, click Finish to restart the computer.
     
  5. bhin_vega

    bhin_vega

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    have you tried to tap on F8 when starting up ?
     
  6. bhin_vega

    bhin_vega

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Do not do the step above it will delete your files permanently :(((
     
  7. needshelp2219

    needshelp2219 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    only thing that show up on my window boot manager is windows 7 and windows memory diagnostic
     
  8. bhin_vega

    bhin_vega

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    what happen ?
     
  9. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,484
    If you read the post, you would know the OP wants to do a factory Restore!
     
  10. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,484
    Is that from the F8 Option?
     
  11. needshelp2219

    needshelp2219 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    yes it is
     
  12. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,484
    Follow the Rules!

     
  13. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,484
    What version of Windows do you currently have on the system?
     
  14. needshelp2219

    needshelp2219 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    windows 7
     
  15. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,484
    64 bit or 32 bit? Do you have the Windows 7 DVD? Or know someone that does?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1079266