Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Failed Installations: "This operation has been cancelled due to restrictions..."

2K views 6 replies 5 participants last post by  stately 
#1 ·
So, my computer was once owned by a corporation, and there are various policies in place that lead to error messages and a lack of access (even though I am an administrator).

1) I can't access the Firewall or Windows Update features
2) Sometimes when I'm trying to install software, I get a message that says "This operation was cancelled due to restrictions in place on your computer. Please contact a network administrator" or something like that.

I have access to regedit (after a bit of work) and have been able to win back some of my privileges. However, I can't seem to find the right restrictions to apply to the above issues.

Oh, also: editing policies in gpedit does not do anything! None of the policies take effect.

Does anyone know how to remedy this?

Thanks.

#2 ·
Which operating system are you using?

I can tell you that it will be a long road getting all of the restrictions out of the registry and you will be more than likely much happier if you just reload the system.

Thanks!

Shane

#4 ·
Thanks, Shane:

It's a Windows XP Professional system. I'm hoping to a complete overhaul of the system because it has some excellent software I don't own on it.

I remember that someone once created a program for Windows 98 that went through the registy and cleared out all the restriction. I'm guessing something like that doesn't exist for XP though...

#5 ·
This may help with some of them:

XP Security Console

Alos, you can force the policy to update:

gpupdate.exe

Check the security settings:

secpol.msc

Search for GTools. You can get a command prompt with the suite that has System privileges that are much higher than admin privileges.

http://p-nand-q.com/gtools.html

Powrrun in PowrClik Suite does the same thing.