1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Failed PSU?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by JPLamb, Jan 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JPLamb

    JPLamb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    577
    I have got a computer that turned off and now will not power back on. when i press the power button the light on the front comes on and the internal fan spins a tiny amount and then nothing. all connections are good.

    am i right in saying its the PSU?
     
  2. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,843
    Perhaps. Quickest way to check is to swap in a known good pw supply. You do not have to fully install the test unit; simply connect the atx, aux, and video pw [if used] and hit the ON button. See if the mb will post. If it does then shutdown and install a new quality pw supply. If it does not, then you will need to do further troubleshooting.
     
  3. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    what are you running
    video card brand and model
    cpu
    m/board
    ram
    power supply
    brand
    model
    wattage

    check the listings in the bios for 12v line voltages and temperatures and post them

    could also be a short
     
  4. matthewdownloads

    matthewdownloads

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    249
    How is he meant to get to the BIOS if his PSU doesn't work?

    Yeah, that's a definite possibility.
     
  5. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    [How is he meant to get to the BIOS if his PSU doesn't work?]

    it's a generic reply

    would expect common sense to prevail
     
  6. matthewdownloads

    matthewdownloads

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    249
    ???
     
  7. Amd_Man

    Amd_Man

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    605
    If it's the Packard Bell listed in your computer specs then the power supply is likely. You can try and remove the CMOS battery for 5 minutes, replace and see if it powers up.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1085467

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice