1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Failed Ram overclocking

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by rahulm, Nov 20, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rahulm

    rahulm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Hi
    i am using a ryzen 5 3600 with msi b450 gaming pro carbon ac and G skill ripjaws 3000mhz ram 8×2 gb
    now i tried ram overclocking through bios setting 'memory try i' and on rebooting there is no signal to monitor and ez debug led on motherboard is on showing cpu not detected. there is no power to keyboard and mouse and no signal to monitor.

    i have tried booting it with one ram stick, still same problem.

    all fans and led in case are working properly
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,086
    I am not sure of what setting you used in firmware BIOS but proceed as below


    Resetting BIOS to default values


    1.
    Power off the computer and unplug the power cord.

    2. Use a jumper cap to short JBAT1 for about 5-10 seconds.

    3. Remove the jumper cap from JBAT1.

    4. Plug the power cord and Power on the computer

    referring if necessary to user manual
    http://download.msi.com/archive/mnu_exe/mb/E7B85v1.2.pdf
     
  3. rahulm

    rahulm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    done
    but now debug led is on for DRAM
     
  4. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,086
    Power down
    disconnect power cord
    Hold down power button for full 20 seconds
    Take out ram sticks
    RESET CMOS again
    Put back ONE ram stick ONLY in A2 slot

    Reconnect power and try again

    CHECK carefully that you are fully seating ram
    RAM debug is often when stick is NOT fully seated
     
  5. rahulm

    rahulm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Thank you very much for your help

    I restart it with one ram stick and it starts then put another one by shutting down and enabled xmps and now it is working properly

    Thank you so much fpr your help
     
  6. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,086
    You are welcome and thanks for your readily expressed appreciation
    mark your topic solved please click mark solved on your opening post
    Nice board
    do not hesitate of course to come back if you have any further problems
    The board comes with a free trial of Norton -
    Do not use it, use Windows Defender the included AV with 10
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2019
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1235945

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice