1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Failed to connect to server

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by imawriter, Oct 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. imawriter

    imawriter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    When I turn on my computer to get my Thunderbird e-mail, a window pops up that says, "Failed to connect to serverincoming.verizon.net."

    How do I take care of this?

    Thanks.
     
  2. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Chuck Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    49,399
    Make sure the computer has internet access when you launch Thunderbird.

    Make sure than any firewall software running on the computer allows Thunderbird to access the internet.

    Make sure that "serverincoming.verizon.net" is the correct server address entry in Thunderbird.

    If you are running Windows XP, here is how you can check if your computer can see the server. Select "Run ..." from the start menu. Enter CMD in the "Open:" box. This will open a DOS screen. At the command prompt, enter the following line:

    PING serverincoming.verizon.net

    You should get some timing results back if the computer could connect to the server.
     
  3. imawriter

    imawriter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    I checked my Verizon account and it says that my incoming server is: POP - serverincoming.verizon.net

    I am running Windows XP.

    I clicked on Run etc. as you suggested and got the DOS screen.I typed in the PING line you gave me" PING serverincoming.verizon.net"

    When nothing happened I figured out that I had to click on Enter and did so. The message told me that it couldn't find it, "Check the name and try again."

    So here I am. Now what?
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Looks like a typing error to me. Try incoming.verizon.net or call your Verizon tech support and ask what it should be.
     
  5. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Chuck Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    49,399
    I concur 100% with TerryNet on this one. I found this on the Verizon.net help pages for setting up an e-mail client:

    ----
    # Fill in the server information:

    * In the Incoming mail (POP3) field, type incoming.verizon.net
    * In the Outgoing mail (SMTP) field, type outgoing.verizon.net
    ----

    Ping worked much better with incoming.verizon.net :


    Pinging incoming.verizon.net [206.46.232.10] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 206.46.232.10: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=236
    Reply from 206.46.232.10: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=236
    Reply from 206.46.232.10: bytes=32 time=47ms TTL=236
    Reply from 206.46.232.10: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=236

    Ping statistics for 206.46.232.10:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 45ms, Maximum = 47ms, Average = 46ms
     
  6. imawriter

    imawriter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    Am really trying to understand this one, but not having any luck since sometimes I do not get the failed to connect message.

    Here is the information I copied and am pasting direct from my Verizon account:

    Mail server settings

    * Incoming mail server (POP3): incoming.verizon.net
    * Outgoing mail server (SMTP): outgoing.verizon.net
    * Your Verizon Online user name
    * Your Verizon Online password

    I also tried Run and the DOS site and typed "incoming.verizon.net" without the quotation marks but nothing happened, so I hit Enter and still nothing happened. I don't understand what is supposed to happen here and how to make it happen .
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Start - Run - cmd - OK

    In the Command (DOS) window type
    ping incoming.verizon.net

    After typing the 't' you then press the 'Enter' key.

    "Ping" is a basic communication test. Either a signal gets to the other device and returns or it doesn't. Sometimes it's also useful for checking/comparing round trip times. See Chuck's post for a successful ping round trip.
    Terry

    EDIT: Actually the default for 'ping' is to attempt 4 round trips, as shown in Chuck's post.
     
  8. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Chuck Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    49,399
    Post #6:
    Post #3:
    incoming.verizon.net and serverincoming.verizon.net are not the same address and are not interchangeable. As far as I can tell, incoming.verizon.net is the address you should be using for the incoming mail server.
     
  9. imawriter

    imawriter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    TerryNet - I followed your directions from Start/Run/etc. to Enter and got four round trips. (Ping) That's the good news. However, what does this mean? And will this help me get rid of the often interrupting window that says that I failed to connect to incoming.verizon.net?

    Your very specific directions were most appreciated. If you can do the same for me to get rid of the abovementioned window, I would be pleased.

    Thanks.
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    "However, what does this mean?"

    All it (successful ping) really means is that something with the name "incoming.verizon.net" exists and you can communicate with it. But that's a heck of a lot better than where we were in post #3! :) And with the other information that Chuck and then you posted, that's very encouraging since it seems that you've both found the correct mail server name.

    Are your mail server settings now correct (* Incoming mail server (POP3): incoming.verizon.net
    * Outgoing mail server (SMTP): outgoing.verizon.net)?

    Are you still getting the "fail to connect"? Always? Or how often?
     
  11. imawriter

    imawriter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    TerryNet,

    I like your sense of humor...and the smiley face helps too, in this painstaking situation.

    My mail server settings appear to be correct now. So far, in the last few hours I have not gotten the "failure" notice. I will check it again tomoprrow and let you know.

    Thanks for your patience.
     
  12. imawriter

    imawriter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    Here's what I have disxcovered in the last couple of days. Normally I go to my Thunderbird e-mail first thing when I turn on my computer. Then I usually get the "failed to connect to server incoming.verizon.net" window.

    However, if I go somewhere else first, e.g. Mozilla Firefox, and then go back for my mail, it's OK and remains OK as long as the computer is turned on, although occasionally I have the same problem with Firefox not opening.

    Does this help to define the problem and possible solution?

    Thanks.
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    It is possible to try to access the internet before the computer has fully established a connection to the internet.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/508321