1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Failing HD in HP m9350f

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Valfar, Apr 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Valfar

    Valfar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    My friend has an HP Pavilion Elite m9350f which as of right now has a failing harddrive, with RAID enabled. We are able to boot Vista, but it freezes shortly after, so there is no way to back the files up from that approach. (As of right now, we are just trying to back up his files)

    We have tried bootable Server 2008 and my Vista 64 CD's, which both were not able to read the harddrive, due to, I am assuming, missing RAID drivers.

    Is there a way to reach to the harddrive and recover the files? The HP's recovery CD is absolutely pointless. It has no command prompt and its backup program fails miserably. It saves everything as a weird fbw extension, and none of them has made a complete transfer (or didnt have the patience to wait...)

    Any kind of help will be of great help,


    Thank you.
     
  2. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    19,742
    If you only have one HDD .. You're not really running RAID.

    Install a new HDD .. and recover it using the HP recovery DVDs
    Then you should be able to install the old HDD as a second HD and read it... if it's still readable.

    You might also try booting in safe mode .. and see if it stays booted so you can backup some files.
     
  3. underclocked

    underclocked

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    32
  4. Valfar

    Valfar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Technically, there only is one HDD, which is said to be in RAID...so is that not really a RAID? Will it break nothing if it is disabled?
     
  5. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    19,742
    Don't mess with the Bios ...
    Just install a new HDD .. and recover it with the recovery DVDs.
    Then you may be able to install the old HDD as a second HDD and read any Data from it.

    In a HP .. If the second (or 3rd ... or more) HDD has a bootable partition ...
    Tap the esc key at bootup .. And you will enter a boot loader that will let you select which HDD to boot from.

    When you boot the HP .. see the bottom of the HP screen .. it should say ESC=<Boot Loader>

    All my newer HPs say RAID .. But this is just a RAID JBOD... (Just a Bunch Of Discs)..
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Valfar

    Valfar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    the computer does not have any other bootable harddrives, just the failing one.
    I am confused as to what you mean by;
    "Just install a new HDD .. and recover it with the recovery DVDs.
    Then you may be able to install the old HDD as a second HDD and read any Data from it"

    Do you recommend that we should buy a new, formatted SATA hdd, plug it in, install an OS, then access the failing hdds content through it?
     
  7. theFakeGeek

    theFakeGeek

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    That seems to be indeed what he means. :)

    Before you run out and buy a new HDD have you tried running a Hard Drive diagnostic tool? You can either use generic tools or download them from the manufacturer of your drive.

    As for backing up your data you can look into downloading Ubuntu Linux onto a CD, booting from that and moving important data to a flash drive or external Hard Drive.

    Hope that helps. :)
     
  8. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    19,742
    YES .. But it doesn't need to be formatted .. Just a new one.

    Not sure I like the variable speed on this 750 gig replacement for your m9350f ...
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136150

    But I'm running a few of these 500gigs ..
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136073

    They make Bigger <> Smaller ... And you can go shopping here ..
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...133 1035407760 1035507776&bop=And&Order=PRICE

    These are OEM HDDs .. Which means they do not come with connectors.
    You'll need on of these cables to install the old HDD as a second HDD ..
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812123163
     
  9. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    19,742
    Once you get a new HD freshly restored .. and you have extracted your Data from the old one ...
    and if it checks out OK ...

    You can make a copy of your new system to the old HDD .. or another new one ...
    Then you can have an internal back up .. And you won't have this problem again.
    It can look something like attached ...

    Check back when you get to this point and I can tell you how ... Dual booting is easy in a HP.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/816852