1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Fan will not stop in standby - no hibernation option

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Speakersrock, Apr 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Speakersrock

    Speakersrock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4,232
    Hi all,

    I have a machine I need to leave in standby for long periods of time, (i.e all night), but the case fan does not stop running.


    It was connected to a hard driver molex, but I guess the hard drives do not stop in standby mode?, so that might answer that one.

    It also does not stop when connected to the proper fan socket on the motherboard.
    Has anyone got any ideas on how to solve this problem?


    OR!

    Does anyone know how to make the machine have a hibernate option?
    I have looked in the bois and it doesn't mention it.
    The machine is running windows 2000 server.


    Any help is much appreciated.
    Matt
     
  2. kev1952

    kev1952

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    Not sure about hibernation on 2000. Standby is a different thing and the fans will continue to run even tho' the system is in a low power state. If the fans did stop then the system would overheat and die. Hibernation is different in that it dumps the contents of memory out to the hard disk and then powers the system down (reversing the dump when you power it back up).

    EDIT: I looked a bit further and found this article in the MS Knowledge Base that explains all about hibernation in Windows 2000.
     
  3. Speakersrock

    Speakersrock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4,232
    Okay, thnaks a lot for this info.

    I just don't have the hibernation tab in power options on this machine. - I guess this means Hibernatiomn is just a big fat no of a posibility?
     
  4. Mr.Magee

    Mr.Magee

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    315
    Not sure if its the same with XP, but there should be an option in the control panel under "power options" or "performance and maintenance" .......something like that. Open that up and there should be a box that you check to ebable hibernation. I'm actually having the same problem with xp, i just recently upgraded my cpu, ram, psu and now when i put it into standby the fans stay on. Before the upgrade the fans would turn off?? So I had to enable hibernation mode as well.
     
  5. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Most machines' fans do not run in standby mode. The only powered hardware is RAM. Look in BIOS and see if it mentions different types of sleep. like S1, S2, etc. Nothing runs visibly on any of my machines in standby. The down-side of standby is that data can be lost during a power failure, while hibernate requires no power.

    You might also consider updating the BIOS in case the issue has been addressed.

    Hibernation is a function of the OS and should be in power options if available. It often requires that all drivers be certified (as does standby).

    How To Configure a Computer to Enter Hibernation in Windows 2000
     
  6. Speakersrock

    Speakersrock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4,232
    humm, Glad to hear its not just me with this problem!, I have never had it on any other of my machines. - Which confused me most!

    Thanks both of you for the information on enabling hibernation, the only problem is that check box is not there. in-fact, power options is pretty empty,It contains very few options. I will go and look in the bios now, but that too, is very scarce, as it is quite old. And I and several others have tried to find an update for it - and failed. (Its American trends), but just don;t seam o be able to find ,much of a reference to it.

    I'll post back with the results of looking in the bios again, thanks.
     
  7. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
  8. Mr.Magee

    Mr.Magee

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    315
    Its not going to overheat and die. Like I said in my previous post, all of my fans used to shut down when in standby mode. The cpu, gpu, etc... wont generate heat without electricity. So the fans shouldn't be on in stand by mode.

    Another thing is to check your BIOS, as there could be some type of configuration for that there.
     
  9. Speakersrock

    Speakersrock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4,232
    Nop, no McAfee. :)

    And thansk for that link, very useful. But unless I mis-understood, Is the whole drivers issue only relevant when neither standby or hibernate works? (Standby does work for me.)

    Yeah, thanks for clarifying that, I could not see how it would overheat and die when none of the other machines I have had experiance with have done so!

    I have checked the bios now, and I thought I was onto a winner, as deep in the bottom of the bios, I found a setting for power seen this before) It was set to acpi, and API, I set it to just ACPI, but this doesn't seam to have made any different.

    Any more ieas please? and thanks for the continued help everyone.
     
  10. Mr.Magee

    Mr.Magee

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    315
    Okay I got it figured out. In the BIOS under the power option, I had to switch it from "S1&S3" to "S3" only. Now she goes into stand by mode like normal, no fans, just silence and a blinking case led! My problem arose with a recent upgrade, thus I had to flash my BIOS, and the new BIOS had the settings a little different. Hopefully this will work for you! (y)
     
  11. Speakersrock

    Speakersrock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4,232
    ahhh well done!
    Glad it all worked out for you.

    I can only imagine this is the same problem with me too, but as I said, my bios has no other option! :(:'(

    Encase anyone is feeling extra helpful, this is my bois details, maybe someone else might have better luck at finding an upgrade for it, But i think the problem is it is a cheapy = no updates.

    AMIBIOS SIMPLE SETUP UTILITY - version 1.21.06
    (C) 2000 American Megatrends Inc.

    [​IMG]
    (And before you ask, the links in that image were'nt any help!) :(

    I'll have another try searching in a bit, Gotta go out for a few now though :rolleyes:
     
  12. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Look in Device Manager and click the name of your machine. Does it say that 2000 was installed as ACPI or does it say it is a standard machine?
     
  13. Speakersrock

    Speakersrock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4,232
    Well (im guessing this is good news)
    It says Computer > Advanced Configiuration and power interface (ACPI) PC


    So, where exactly does that lead me now lol? Back to the bios or what?
     
  14. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    It means that power options should be available unless something else is a problem. And you're right and logical about the drivers--if standby works, hibernate should, too.

    So, back to the BIOS. How old is it? Any updates?
     
  15. Speakersrock

    Speakersrock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4,232
    Yeah, Okay,
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/704608