Fans on/ Lights on but it won't start BIOS!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

MiRan

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
13
Today i buildt my first own PC. Everthing is working well, except that it won't boot at all. My screen remains black. All my fans turn on, all LEDs are on and the Windows 7 Disk is in, too. I checked everything 5 times. Please help me!

i5 6600K
N770 TF (2GB/GDDR5)
3 external 120mm fans
1 hard drive
16GB DDR4 RAM
Asus Z170P
AND my PSU
Be quiet! Pure Power L8-CM 530W

Maybe the PSU ? Are 530W okey for this System?
 
Last edited:

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,860
You're not detailed and descriptive enough in your computer's hardware, so hopefully I selected the correct ones.

Intel Core i5-6600K 3.50 GHz processor
It uses 91W and has an average benchmark score of 7811.

MSI Gaming n770 TF GeForce GTX 770 graphics card
It uses 230W and has an average benchmark score of 6147 and requires a "minimum" of a 600W power supply.

ASUS Z170-P motherboard

Seasonic Pure Power L8 CM 530W power supply

When you factor in the power requirements for the motherboard, RAM, drives, fans, etc.(and I'm guessing you're going to use that computer for gaming), that power supply is definitely lacking.

---------------------------------------------------------------
 

MiRan

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
13
You're not detailed and descriptive enough in your computer's hardware, so hopefully I selected the correct ones.

Intel Core i5-6600K 3.50 GHz processor
It uses 91W and has an average benchmark score of 7811.

MSI Gaming n770 TF GeForce GTX 770 graphics card
It uses 230W and has an average benchmark score of 6147 and requires a "minimum" of a 600W power supply.

ASUS Z170-P motherboard

Seasonic Pure Power L8 CM 530W power supply

When you factor in the power requirements for the motherboard, RAM, drives, fans, etc., the power supply you have is definitely lacking.

---------------------------------------------------------------
You're not detailed and descriptive enough in your computer's hardware, so hopefully I selected the correct ones.

Intel Core i5-6600K 3.50 GHz processor
It uses 91W and has an average benchmark score of 7811.

MSI Gaming n770 TF GeForce GTX 770 graphics card
It uses 230W and has an average benchmark score of 6147 and requires a "minimum" of a 600W power supply.

ASUS Z170-P motherboard

Seasonic Pure Power L8 CM 530W power supply

When you factor in the power requirements for the motherboard, RAM, drives, fans, etc., and I'm guessing you're going to use that computer for gaming, the power supply you have is definitely lacking.

---------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks for you fast reply! I'm just wondering because my old PSU had only 400W and everything worked fine... I'll get a PSU w/ more Watts now. Thank you :)
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,860
You're not the first person here who's built a gaming desktop and who skimped on the quality and wattage of a power supply.
Stay away from the "budget" models and get one that has at least a 5 - 7 year warranty.

-------------------------------------------------------------
 

MiRan

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
13
You're not the first person here who's built a gaming desktop and who skimped on the quality and wattage of a power supply.
Stay away from the "budget" models and get one that has at least a 5 - 7 year warranty.

-------------------------------------------------------------
I'll do. But I've got one more question. Yesterday I removed the graphics card completely so that it should work w/ the PSU shouldn't it? (Got a onboard graphics card so I could test without it) Why doesn't it work when I remove it completly? There should be enough power while it's removed.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,181
Your thread shows solved however it does not appear that it is solved. You are correct that removing the real video card and using the onchip video will decrease the pw requirements of your system.
There is a guide at the top of the forum just for problem builds. Have you read the guide? If not, do so. If you follow ALL of the steps, you will find the cause of your problem.

I agree you need a much better quality pw supply to run that video card. You need a minimum of 650W quality pw supply. Here is an example of what is required to run that system;
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817151088
Note that is only an example; there are a number of quality pw supplies that will do the job for you.
 

MiRan

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
13
Your thread shows solved however it does not appear that it is solved. You are correct that removing the real video card and using the onchip video will decrease the pw requirements of your system.
There is a guide at the top of the forum just for problem builds. Have you read the guide? If not, do so. If you follow ALL of the steps, you will find the cause of your problem.

I agree you need a much better quality pw supply to run that video card. You need a minimum of 650W quality pw supply. Here is an example of what is required to run that system;
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817151088
Note that is only an example; there are a number of quality pw supplies that will do the job for you.
Accidently marked solved, sorry.
I'm just wondering because my old PSU had only 400W so i'm a lil confused... I'll order a new one anyway.
I'll go to a computer specialist if it doesn't work.

Thanks for your help!
 

MiRan

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
13
Accidently marked solved, sorry.
I'm just wondering because my old PSU had only 400W so i'm a lil confused... I'll order a new one anyway.
I'll go to a computer specialist if it doesn't work.

Thanks for your help!
Btw. It is NOT the Seasonic Pure Power L8-CM 530W it's the Be quiet! Pure Power L8-CM 530W. But I don't think it's a big difference is it?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,181
Actually it would since seasonic is a very high quality mfg. Next the gtx770 requires a minimum of a 600W pw supply. Here is the nvidia spec sheet;
http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop-gpus/geforce-gtx-770/specifications

I tend to think you have other problems since it is not working with the onboard video. Have you read the guide?
Common errors for new builders;
1 Aux pw connector not plugged in
2 Motherboard shorting to case due to incorrect placement of standoffs
3 Ram not fully seated
4 Damaged mb socket during cpu install
5 Incorrect install of cooler or hsf. This is more of a problem with intels than with AMDs.
 

MiRan

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
13
Actually it would since seasonic is a very high quality mfg. Next the gtx770 requires a minimum of a 600W pw supply. Here is the nvidia spec sheet;
http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop-gpus/geforce-gtx-770/specifications

I tend to think you have other problems since it is not working with the onboard video. Have you read the guide?
Common errors for new builders;
1 Aux pw connector not plugged in
2 Motherboard shorting to case due to incorrect placement of standoffs
3 Ram not fully seated
4 Damaged mb socket during cpu install
5 Incorrect install of cooler or hsf. This is more of a problem with intels than with AMDs.
Yes, just read it.
I'll check those standoffs.
I'll check RAM again, too.
The mb sockel should not be damaged.
Installed my cooler exactly like in my instructions.

But what is that AUX pw connector? Is it the cable for the CPU?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,181
Did you follow ALL of the steps? That last part of the guide is to swap parts with known good units. If you follow all of the steps, you will find the cause of your problem.

I would really NOT use the video card; use the onboard video that is part of the cpu for testing.
 

MiRan

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
13
Did you follow ALL of the steps? That last part of the guide is to swap parts with known good units. If you follow all of the steps, you will find the cause of your problem.

I would really NOT use the video card; use the onboard video that is part of the cpu for testing.
My actual problem is, i can't check the RAM because it's DDR4 and I only got DDR3 here that won't fit. Can't check the processor because it's the 1151 Sockel and I do not have another Skylake Processor here. ^^ I could swap the graphics card with an old Nvidia... that's all.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top