1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Fast User Switching stopped working

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by fish8865, Jun 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fish8865

    fish8865 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    What happens is after booting up, I can log on to any of the users normally. If I log off, I can log on to any of the other users without a problem. If I click "switch user", it takes me to the welcome screen as it normally would. If I try to click on a different user the screen flashes briefly and then goes back to the welcome screen. No error message. I can still get back on to the user that is already logged on.

    I have already checked the easy stuff, fast switching is enabled. One of the help threads I read suggested checking "services.msc" and setting "terminal services" to manual, it was already set this way.
     
  2. stantley

    stantley

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7,091
    Try setting the services "Terminal Services" and "Fast User Switching Compatibility" both to automatic, reboot and see if that helps.
     
  3. fish8865

    fish8865 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    That didn't work.
     
  4. stantley

    stantley

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7,091
    Ok, try this, go here: http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_tweaks.htm

    go down to 34 on the left "Restore Fast User Switching"

    Read "To use the Regedits:" at the top for instructions.

    Do you have XP or Vista? Use this fix if you have XP.
     
  5. fish8865

    fish8865 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Tried that also and it didn't work.
     
  6. stantley

    stantley

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7,091
    Did you try a System Restore to a point prior to when you noticed the problem?
     
  7. fish8865

    fish8865 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Yea tried that and it doesn't restore to any point.
     
  8. fish8865

    fish8865 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    I guess no one has any other ideas to help me with this?
     
  9. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    Try running System Restore from Safe Mode
     
  10. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,655
    First Name:
    David
    How much unused disk space do you have?

    To do a switch user, ALL of the files and programs in use MUST be written to the hard drive so the new users files and programs can be opened.

    Your "Switched user files may be corrupted, and you may want to try and delete them for a clean start.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/835358

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice