faster speed and free Zone Alarm

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

silverado4

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 9, 2004
Messages
1,569
My ISP (Wideopenwest.com) just went from 4 MBPS to 8MBPS a couple of days ago free to us. I did a speed check once I went through disconnecting the modem like they (isp) told us to do and reconnecting it.

The following results were found:
Upload: 1102 KBPS
Download: 1149 KBPS

I'm sure that KBPS is slower the MBPS, isn't it? I wrote my ISP an e-mail. They wrote back and said that it could be the Free Zone Alarm that is giving me the problem. It has in the past they have said. They told me to disable it and try the speed test again. I did disable it, but the speeds were about the same.

Can anyone help me to try to get a faster internet speed?

Thanks.
 

Davec

Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
4,435
Try it at 3 am. Cable speeds vary based on how many customers in your neighborhood are on line at the time.
 

silverado4

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 9, 2004
Messages
1,569
I don't think that's it, I've talked to others with other firewalls, and they get faster speeds then me, it's got to be zone alarm, I thought maybe someone knew of a "tweat" for it.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2006
Messages
4,469
I don't think that's it, I've talked to others with other firewalls, and they get faster speeds then me, it's got to be zone alarm, I thought maybe someone knew of a "tweat" for it.
There are many many factors affecting speed. One was already pointed out.
Cable or DSL?

Try a test here:
http://speedtest.net/

Use the suggested server as it is the one closest to your location.


Edit:
1MB = 8Mb*
1KB = 8Kb

1MB = 1024KB

*Note the use of capitals.

My connection is 10Mb/s which is 1280KB/s
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2006
Messages
4,469
I have to admit I have never seen upload and download speeds so close.

Does your ISP state MB/s or Mb/s?
 

silverado4

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 9, 2004
Messages
1,569
They said the following speed change will take place:


WOW! Internet speed from 4Mbps to 8Mbps
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
32,642
Well if you think ZA is slowing you down do 2 tests

Turn it off and use windows firewall
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2006
Messages
4,469
They said the following speed change will take place:


WOW! Internet speed from 4Mbps to 8Mbps
That is nice. Doubling your speed.

I doubt it is firewall, but you can eliminate that possibility pretty quick by trying another.

http://forums.techguy.org/general-security/603629-security-help-tools.html

Scroll down to free firewalls.

Download one to desktop. Disconnect internet. Uninstall first one then install the new one. Back on-line, update the firewall.

Do another speed test and let us know the results.
 

silverado4

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 9, 2004
Messages
1,569
I stopped the firewall two ways:
1. Disabled it through zone alarm, that didn't work.
2. Removed the check mark in the start up in "zclient", I believe it was, zone alarm didn't load, that didn't work. Ran speed test on both ways, still slow.

It can't be zone alarm then, wonder what it is, it can't be traffic, I've tried all times. Still slow.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2006
Messages
4,469

silverado4

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 9, 2004
Messages
1,569
I'm assuming you mean Hijack, doesn't that have personal information in it of mine?
According to the link, they don't want you to do it, unless I read it wrong.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2006
Messages
4,469
I'm assuming you mean Hijack, doesn't that have personal information in it of mine?
According to the link, they don't want you to do it, unless I read it wrong.
Yes, Hijack This.

I don't know about personal info. Look before posting it and edit it out.

They don't want you to post in the earlier linked thread, which you can't do now anyway as it is locked.

Post it in the "Malware Removal & HijackThis Logs" forum in new thread or post it in this thread and click "report" at bottom of your HJT log(after posting) and ask a mod for assistance with the log. I can't give info on it. Only members with gold or blue shields are allowed. There is a reason for that and I recommend you only take advice from those that have them.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top