1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

faster speed and free Zone Alarm

Discussion in 'General Security' started by silverado4, Oct 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. silverado4

    silverado4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,508
    My ISP (Wideopenwest.com) just went from 4 MBPS to 8MBPS a couple of days ago free to us. I did a speed check once I went through disconnecting the modem like they (isp) told us to do and reconnecting it.

    The following results were found:
    Upload: 1102 KBPS
    Download: 1149 KBPS

    I'm sure that KBPS is slower the MBPS, isn't it? I wrote my ISP an e-mail. They wrote back and said that it could be the Free Zone Alarm that is giving me the problem. It has in the past they have said. They told me to disable it and try the speed test again. I did disable it, but the speeds were about the same.

    Can anyone help me to try to get a faster internet speed?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Davec

    Davec Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,435
    Try it at 3 am. Cable speeds vary based on how many customers in your neighborhood are on line at the time.
     
  3. silverado4

    silverado4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,508
    I don't think that's it, I've talked to others with other firewalls, and they get faster speeds then me, it's got to be zone alarm, I thought maybe someone knew of a "tweat" for it.
     
  4. RootbeaR

    RootbeaR

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,469
    There are many many factors affecting speed. One was already pointed out.
    Cable or DSL?

    Try a test here:
    http://speedtest.net/

    Use the suggested server as it is the one closest to your location.


    Edit:
    1MB = 8Mb*
    1KB = 8Kb

    1MB = 1024KB

    *Note the use of capitals.

    My connection is 10Mb/s which is 1280KB/s
     
  5. silverado4

    silverado4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,508
    Sorry, I have cable.
     
  6. RootbeaR

    RootbeaR

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,469
    I have to admit I have never seen upload and download speeds so close.

    Does your ISP state MB/s or Mb/s?
     
  7. silverado4

    silverado4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,508
    Here are my results from the test, terrible as you can see.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. silverado4

    silverado4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,508
    They said the following speed change will take place:


    WOW! Internet speed from 4Mbps to 8Mbps
     
  9. Blackmirror

    Blackmirror

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    32,642
    Well if you think ZA is slowing you down do 2 tests

    Turn it off and use windows firewall
     
  10. RootbeaR

    RootbeaR

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,469
    That is nice. Doubling your speed.

    I doubt it is firewall, but you can eliminate that possibility pretty quick by trying another.

    http://forums.techguy.org/general-security/603629-security-help-tools.html

    Scroll down to free firewalls.

    Download one to desktop. Disconnect internet. Uninstall first one then install the new one. Back on-line, update the firewall.

    Do another speed test and let us know the results.
     
  11. silverado4

    silverado4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,508
    I stopped the firewall two ways:
    1. Disabled it through zone alarm, that didn't work.
    2. Removed the check mark in the start up in "zclient", I believe it was, zone alarm didn't load, that didn't work. Ran speed test on both ways, still slow.

    It can't be zone alarm then, wonder what it is, it can't be traffic, I've tried all times. Still slow.
     
  12. RootbeaR

    RootbeaR

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,469
    I recommend a HJT.
    http://forums.techguy.org/general-security/603619-please-read-before-posting-forum.html
     
  13. silverado4

    silverado4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,508
    I'm assuming you mean Hijack, doesn't that have personal information in it of mine?
    According to the link, they don't want you to do it, unless I read it wrong.
     
  14. RootbeaR

    RootbeaR

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,469
    Yes, Hijack This.

    I don't know about personal info. Look before posting it and edit it out.

    They don't want you to post in the earlier linked thread, which you can't do now anyway as it is locked.

    Post it in the "Malware Removal & HijackThis Logs" forum in new thread or post it in this thread and click "report" at bottom of your HJT log(after posting) and ask a mod for assistance with the log. I can't give info on it. Only members with gold or blue shields are allowed. There is a reason for that and I recommend you only take advice from those that have them.
     
  15. tomdkat

    tomdkat Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,148
    How old is your cable modem?

    Peace...
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/756599

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice