1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

fastethernet down/down and fastethernet up/down

Discussion in 'Networking' started by lAwBoY, Sep 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lAwBoY

    lAwBoY Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    What is the different?
    What should i check for , cable/power on the switch

    fastethernet down/down
    fastethernet up/down
     
  2. telegramsam

    telegramsam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,085
    Where are you finding this? Are you supposed to decide between the two of these?

    Are you connected to the internet?
     
  3. lAwBoY

    lAwBoY Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    nope.. i connected to my LAN
     
  4. telegramsam

    telegramsam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,085
    Go to My Network Places, and then hit View Network Connections (assuming this is XP you're using).
    What do you see there?
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    I don't even understand the question, can you restate it in English?
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,606
    "I don't even understand the question, can you restate it in English?"

    Thank you! :) I was afraid I was the only one completely in the dark.
     
  7. telegramsam

    telegramsam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,085
    I'm in the dark. I have no idea...
     
  8. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    looks like what you see on a Cisco router / switch.

    If that's the case, you will need Protocol Up / Line Up.

    If it's up / down, then the connection between the two devices are not present, or the other device connected is not connected properly.

    If it's down / down, then you need to enable the port (if it's the switch) or the interface (if on a router)
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    I think the first step is a much clearer definition of the problem and the equipment involved.
     
  10. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    well that too :D I'm just throwing an idea out :D
     
  11. lAwBoY

    lAwBoY Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    sorry for all the misunderstanding...
    what i meant was...let say im using a cisco router connected to a switch via fastethernet interface...

    there will be times where by i would see
    fastethernet down/down
    fastethernet up/down
    on the router ...

    just want to get a better understanding what would be the likely cause of problem if i see those for each sitaution
     
  12. O111111O

    O111111O

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    894
    Is the switch Cisco as well?

    "sh cdp neigh detai" if it is. You probably have speed/duplex mismatch and the port is flapping.
     
  13. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    probably bad cable too. but if you do have down/down, then the port is administratively down.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/501753