1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Fatal exception errors

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Mlum, Sep 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mlum

    Mlum Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    200
    Just reformated my hard drive and I'm still getting "fatal exception errors" and "this program has perform an illegal operation". How do you fix these errors?
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Fatal exceptions immediately after a "clean install" and before additional programs have been installed, puts the onus on hardware -- particulary ram.

    It would help if you gave some more info on the blue screen errors or other faults, but the first thing you should do is test the ram.

    Microsoft is providing a utility which will do this for you if you cannot substitute known good ram to test.

    http://oca.microsoft.com/en/windiag.asp
     
  3. aarhus2004

    aarhus2004 Gone but always remembered

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,049
    Hello Rollin' Rog,

    Out of interest, if I may?

    I used the MS utility for the RAM test. By "known good ram" I think you may mean RAM from a running computer (and compatible), new RAM not yet installed and...?

    If there were problems implicating RAM would the removal of the older stick (in the case of one having added RAM) have any value in assessing where the problem might be located? And vice-versa - in terms of removal.

    Thanks.
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    If more than one module is installed, it can be useful to swap modules out. Usually it's best to leave one module in the first slot nearest the cpu. Some motherboards require this I believe. Naturally you wouldn't want to have less than a basic minimum, such as 32 mb.

    Yes you could swap from another system if you know the ram is compatible.
     
  5. aarhus2004

    aarhus2004 Gone but always remembered

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,049
    Appreciate that, Rollin' Rog
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Fatal exception errors
  1. Jelieber
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    518
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/269269

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice