1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

faulty memory

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by je316, Feb 5, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. je316

    je316 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    I got a pc (custom made) only a month ago and when i first got it, it worked fine. But then i started getting random system crashes and errors when installing programs and extracting files (e.g. installing sp2 would come up with the message of 'file is corrupt' when extracting its files)

    reading around, i thought it might be a problem with my memory, so i ran memtest86+ and sure enough i got heaps of errors. The computer came with two 512MB memory chips, and so i tried each one separately in all four slots and one gave errors no matter which slot, while the other worked fine in all of the slots. So i assumed it was a one-off bad memory chip.

    So i ran my comp on the single working 512MB, but a few days later, i got the random crashes again - and when i ran memtest, it came up with several errors. (i.e. now both mem chips will not work separately or together in any slot)

    What could be causing OK memory to start going faulty like this?


    My specs are:
    Gigabyte GA-8I915P-G motherboard
    Seagate 200GB harddrive
    Pentium 4 3.2ghz
    Nvida geforce 6600gt graphics card
    Windows XP home (w/SP2)
     
  2. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    Wrong voltage
     
  3. winbob

    winbob

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,370
    While Dave may be right...since this is a Custom Built PC that you bought only 1 month ago....TAKE IT BACK!!!! :cool: (n)
     
  4. je316

    je316 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    I installed new memory (better quality) and it's worked a treat. Seemed like it was just a combination of inferior memory and overheating (was badly cooled) which probably caused it.
     
  5. Derrick

    Derrick

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Well this is true ! Most computer shops around here anyway build pc's with cheap power supplys,generic memory, really thin cases with no cooling at all.
    I't planned obsolesance, they need you back for buisness. They don't want your pc to last forever, so they give you cheap hardware and no cooling ,after a year when the warranty wears out. = $.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/326978

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice