1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Feature update to Windows 10, version 1709 wont Update

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by hisbeauty4ashes, Oct 20, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hisbeauty4ashes

    hisbeauty4ashes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,427
    Hi all I am trying to help my uncle update his windows 10.. He has an Asus Model X551MA Laptop 64 bit and 4 gigs memory.

    The problem is I cannot get it to update to Feature update to Windows 10, version 1709

    How can I fix this problem?

    Also I have another issue The device, Intel(R) Trusted Execution Engine Interface , cannot start properly. It may not have the correct driver installed or may be experiencing a hardware failure. The Plug and Play ID for this device is PCI\VEN_8086-DEV_0F18-SUBSYS_14DD1043-REV_0E\3-11583659-1-D0.

    I tried uninstalling the driver but that did not work.

    Thanks for any help you can over.

    Have a great night
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2017
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,219
    First Name:
    Derek
    best advice is hold off from 1709 for a short time
    there appear to be problems all over installing it. with no single easy fix

    I am led to understand that Microsoft are working on it and hopefully the problems will be found shortly and fixes pushed out
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,484
    First Name:
    Frank
    According to the support site for the ASUS X551MA laptop, it originally came with Windows 8 64-bit.
    Its driver downloads section doesn't have Windows 10 64-bit drivers for its primary devices, so it's my guess ASUS never tested it for Windows 10.

    How long has Windows 10 been running in your uncle's laptop?

    Type winver in the search box, then press the Enter key.
    What's the "Version" and "OS Build" numbers listed there?

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. hisbeauty4ashes

    hisbeauty4ashes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,427
    Ok well not sure about how long 10 has been on here because he is out of town. I did actually use the update fix tool for windows 10 and it fixed issues with updates. Also I was able to fixed the other problem in Device manager by deleting the drive as well as uninstall it. However the computer is slow on startup and shut down. I did all the fixes to make it faster and to no avail. Also typing on google chrome its weird too like it is slow and cannot keep up or something.

    Here is the number for the Build on my uncles Laptop Version 1703 (OS Build 15063.674
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,484
    First Name:
    Frank
    We don't know how well it's maintained and what's installed and running in it, so there could be several reasons for the slowness and long startup/shutdown times.
    He has the "Creators Update" which is up-to-date.
    The "Fall Creators Update" was released 3 days ago and is Version 1709 OS Build 16299.19
    It'll be released in stages, so it's unknown when he will receive it.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. hisbeauty4ashes

    hisbeauty4ashes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,427
    Okay humm how can I get this thing moving it is slow. I tried updating drivers from Asus but the Bios one that was to be updated it comes in a zip file which I unzipped but I still could not get it to work. I though maybe that too would help with getting this computer moving. not sure.
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,484
    First Name:
    Frank
    We need more information on that ASUS X551MA laptop, so do the following in it:

    Download and save the TSG System Information Utility (SysInfo.exe) file.
    After it's been downloaded and saved, double-click it to run it.
    Information about that laptop will appear.
    Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the ENTIRE text here.
    You're lucky you didn't wind up with a failed BIOS update and make a heavy doorstop out of that laptop.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. hisbeauty4ashes

    hisbeauty4ashes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,427
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU N2830 @ 2.16GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 55 Stepping 8
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 2958 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, 1543 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 444 GB (396 GB Free);
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., X551MA
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled
     
  9. hisbeauty4ashes

    hisbeauty4ashes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,427
    The problem was he never updated anything I looked at the Bios date and it was old and the 2015 one was never updated.
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,484
    First Name:
    Frank
    cpu.JPG

    One main reason why that ASUS laptop is running slow is because it has a weak Intel processor and only 3 GB of RAM.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. hisbeauty4ashes

    hisbeauty4ashes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,427
    Oh wow it is suppose to have 4 gigs. It says for gigs are in it.
     
  12. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9,392
    CPU speed is not related to the amount of RAM (4 gigs ). If the cpu is slow, then processing anything will be slow, regardless of how much RAM memory it has. The speed of the CPU is measured in Ghz. Your 2.16 Ghz is not too slow, but the product line is Cerleron, which is a slow economy model. In general when buying refurbished computers, avoid Celeron and Sempron models.
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2017
  13. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,484
    First Name:
    Frank
    It very well may have 4 GB of RAM.
    I'm guessing its system properties shows about 2.88 GB usable.

    -------------------------------------------------------------
     
  14. hisbeauty4ashes

    hisbeauty4ashes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,427
    This is my uncles computer he is so not smart when it comes to buying computers. Thanks for the help guys..
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1198167

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice