1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Fetching Web Part Gallery in SPD

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by tracy_lit5, Oct 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tracy_lit5

    tracy_lit5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    I was working on a test site. When it was good to go, the site went live with a public IP
    Since then, I have been unable to have SharePoint Designer show the Web Parts Gallery.
    I can open the site with SPD with (not real addy) http://123.345.6.7:89123
    I have 2 other production sites and can log in directly with SPD and open the site and the web parts show.
    In the Web Parts task pane, it keeps showing "Fetching Web Part Gallery from the web server"

    If I use my browser, I can log into the site and it will show the web parts so I can add/remove anything
    Yes, I could 'not use spd', but the issue still remains....there's a flaw. It could be minor, but a flaw is a flaw nonetheless.

    Googled some answers:
    1. 'I was connecting to server using ip adresses, now I'm conecting using server name and everything work great.'
    I don't find the answer in there because I've always opened the site in SPD with http://123.345.6.7:89123. Opening the site http://newsite.com in SPD has the same issue...can't see the web parts

    2. Central Admin - Application Management - Security for Web Part Pages: enable both
    I checked...both are set to allow already

    What am I doing wrong and where can I go to fix it?
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Is this an internally hosted site?
     
  3. tracy_lit5

    tracy_lit5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    the site has public access with login capability.

    sorry...I'm still a wee bit new at this.

    I had to give up on this for a while because of other issues with the server.
    Those issues had been address and now when I open the site, the web parts shows up.

    I don't know what was done...all I know is that it works now.

    Thanks for you time anyway
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1024258

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice