Field codes and FILLIN

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

onefurlongout

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
24
Hi,

I have created a very long contractual document that needs to be tweaked everytime I use it. In total the are around ten different enteries that need to be put in each time.

I've managed to work out how to use the FILLIN code so that the document prompts me for an answer but it only does this on the first code. I actually have to click on the next code and pres F9 so that it asks me the next.

Is there a way in which I can press F9 once and then word asks me the all the required questions.

Hope anyone can help
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2003
Messages
4,912
I've never really used the built in prompts but you can accomplish what you want using VBA code and form fields. I would need to see the document to see if this is possible. Can you post your sample document?

Regards,
Rollin
 

onefurlongout

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
24
Rollin,

As its a contractual document I'd rather not post it but I can provide you with a few sample paragraphs from the third and fourth pages where the names are required, the registered number and the company address

THIS AGREEMENT (the “Agreement”)is made between:

NAME OF COMPANY (Registered number xxxxxx) (&#8220;Insurer&#8221;) whose registered office is at <<insert Address>>
and
Name of Comapany(Registered number xxxxxxx) (&#8221;Agent&#8221;) whose registered office is at
<Insert Address
each a Party and together &#8220;The Parties&#8221;.

The next section requires a number being entered

The Agreement is in respect of all claims with a value not exceeding £[ ]. The Agent will repudiate claims where, following investigations:

Thanks
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2003
Messages
4,912
Why don't you create a seperate data entry form to type the specific data in to? Instead of being prompted for values one at a time the form would pop up and you would enter all into into the appropriate text fields and then click a button to transfer the data into the contract using form fields.

Regards,
Rollin
 

onefurlongout

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
24
That sounds like a good idea but alas my skills are very limited. What is that process called?
 

OBP

Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
19,895
Rollin, this sounds like Access VBA putting the data in to Word "Bookmarks" in the Document might work well if the Poster has Access. Or even Excel.
They would then have a record of all data entered in to the Documents.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2003
Messages
4,912
Attached is a very simple example of transferring data from a form directly into a document using form fields. In my sample document the form fields have been shaded gray so you can see them. You can always set them with a white background so that they don't stand out. Open the attached Word doc and run the macro called "ShowForm" and enter you data. If this works for you we can help you put it all together on your own doc. As Tony already stated you may want to consider storing you data in a database table.

Regards,
Rollin
 

Attachments

onefurlongout

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
24
Back at home now but I will try this one in the morning. Was there just the one attachement?

Not sure how I run the macro either. God I sound so dumb
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2003
Messages
4,912
Just open the document and then click TOOLS >> MACRO >> MACROS and select the macro called "ShowForm"

Regards,
Rollin
 

onefurlongout

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
24
Ah got it, I had to disable the macros. This works really well and would definately help with the completion of the document.

At the moment I use a word template that allows me to capture all the data/answers. Its then a matter of puttingthe info into main document
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top